How to make Adobe Acrobat the Default Reader

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mcmadhatter, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #1
    Hi

    Is there a way to make Adobe Acrobat the default program for all pdf's instead of preview? Currently I have to go down the "Open With" and then "always use this program" route for each individual file and it's driving me crazy.

    Cheers
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #2
    Right click on a pdf file (command click) and then go to Get Info and then under Open With choose the program of your liking and then click the Change All button
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #3
    Thanks a lot, that has made my life a little easier:)
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    I wish I could have it the other way. Acrobat takes over all my pdfs and I hate that. I only want to use acrobat if I need to read or create comments on the doc. Otherwise Preview displays pdf much faster and renders them better.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    You can.. follow the same directions, but use Preview as the default app.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    I know, but this doesn't apply to newly created pdf's in an adobe app.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #7
    lol, each to their own :)
     
  8. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #8
    Heh, I definitely prefer Preview. I don't even have Acrobat installed :D
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9

    Same. I can't stand Acrobat and apart from a glitch in the early days of Panther, Preview's worked well for me.
     

Share This Page