How to manage .pdf's?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by lanray, May 1, 2005.

1. lanray macrumors regular

Mar 18, 2005
    I'm a medical student (soon to graduate! yippee!), and I've got a lot of .pdf's that I've downloaded of medical articles and the such. Does anyone have experience with an inexpensive program that would manage the files and make them easily accessible/organized?

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Jul 4, 2004
    What do you mean by managing? Why not organise them into sub-folders within a folder?

You can open PDFs in Preview or use Adobe Reader.

Preview is fast, Reader is much improved and offers other features that Preview doesn't.

Preview is on your Mac if you have OSX. Reader is free.
  3. andrewfee macrumors 6502

Aug 29, 2004

If you have / get Tiger, it should be able to search inside each PDF document, so you can have them all thrown in one folder if you like, but you'll still be able to find the relevant one. (it even opens them up on the first page containing the words you searched for)
  4. lanray thread starter macrumors regular

Mar 18, 2005

Thanks for the quick replies. I don't have Adobe on my computer; I usually just use Preview. It works well. What would be nice is a filing system that would allow me to list things by title, subject, maybe even author. I realize that Tiger may make all this obsolete. I do remember a buddy of mine having a program like this a while ago. Do you anything like it?
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

Feb 22, 2005
    Gah! Plymouth
    Smart Folders in Tiger is how i manage my School documents

Spotlight is also another way
  6. sacear macrumors 6502

Jan 12, 2005
    iTunes. Yes, iTunes. As inexpensive there is. You can drop pdf files on the iTunes icon and the pdfs will enter the iTunes library database. Then you can make a Playlist or Smart Playlist to organize the pdfs!

Hope that helps.
  7. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Jul 4, 2004
    Who'da thought? Brilliant idea! :D