How to Migrate One Program from MBA to another MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iViking, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I have MS Office installed on my MBA. I need to replace this MBA for a new one, and want to transport MS OFFICE to the new one so I don't have to re-enter the pass key as I only have one validation to use. (Can only be used on 1 machine).

    I have heard of migration assistant but have never used it. Will it allow you to migrate one program over, rather than everything on one MBA to another? I only want to migrate the installed MS Office, nothing else.

    If so, how does one go about doing it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I would also like to know this as I have received my replacement MBA today and have Office 2011 installed on my faulty MBA
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #4
    Get carbon copy cloner it is free. You can clone the whole drive or copy individual directories.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    When you use Migration Assistant, I believe that all of the applications are moved. I did not see how to select specific applications... but then I did not search for that function either (I wanted all of them). Most applications move seamlessly... some require a re-entry of the serial key. Microsoft Office is one of the few where you will still need to enter the key on the new machine.

    I keep all of my software keys stored in my 1Password vault. One of the benefits of this is that when you migrate to a new machine, it is trivial to re-enter software keys with a couple of clicks. It beats trying to find the software boxes.

    /Jim
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    That is good to know but how do you get around the product key already being used on the faulty machine?
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    When I recently replaced one of my MBAs with a new one... I secure wiped the old MBA, returned it to Apple... then used the same MS Office key on my replacement MBA.

    I never had any problem doing this. I buy all of my software, do not duplicate keys across multiple machines (beyond what is permitted by the license agreement)... and I replace my machines frequently.

    /Jim
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Some MS Office 2011 products allow two installs, I will have to check later and report back.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Epic Xbox Revie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #9
    You can also use AirDrop if they both have Lion :D
     
  10. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #10
    In my experience, if activation fails it's easy enough to call up the Microsoft activation hotline, explain the situation, and they give you an activation code. Just make it clear the other system was wiped and returned.

    Unless you've tried it and Microsoft has told you "tough luck", I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    Long Beach Island, NJ
    #11
    I migrated everything including MS Office from my unibody MacBook to my new MBA 13 with no need for a code. Perfectly ethical since I the put a clean install on the old machine so am still only running one copy. Actually, I think you can install on a desktop AND laptop.
     

Share This Page