how to mount a camera to look like a hard drive

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Hungarianguy, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. Hungarianguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    #1
    In windows when I plug my camera in it can be looked as a hard drive. Is there a way that I can do this on my g5?


    I would like to delete some pictures from the smart card on it (that somehow iphoto did not delete).
     
  2. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #2
    Damn I'm tired. I read something about mounting cameras and the first thing I thought about was the shortage of virtual facesitting pr0n in the world.
     
  3. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #3
    What kind of camera is it? Normally this is exactly what should happen, and it should do so without needing drivers or anything.
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Normally this is something that should be set on the camera. On my HP camera this is under Setup -> USB Configuration which gives me two options: Digital Camera or Disk Drive. Most (but not all) cameras have a similar option, somewhere...
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    There are some "known" issues, unfortunately...As far as I know, there is no way to mount most Canons on the desktop on Macs, for some odd reason, and this has been true for some time. Neither my S50 nor my 300D will do so.

    Depending on what your camera is, you might also play with Image Capture and see if that helps. Or if there is camera browser software for your camera. Or, take the plunge, and delete the files from the camera interface or from another computer.
     
  6. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Use a card reader, When you plug the media card in to the reader it will mound on your computer. Card readers are quite cheap now.
     
  7. thequicksilver macrumors 6502a

    thequicksilver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Birmingham
    #7
    I've just bought a Canon Digital Ixus and have found this, but I actually prefer it this way. :) Much nicer to just be able to unplug it as opposed to having to eject it or get the annoying "You may have lost data by not unmounting the disk first" message.
     
  8. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #8
    So is the only way to get pictures of a Canon digital camera through iPhoto? I know all Macs come with iPhoto/iLife, but what if someone doesn't have iPhoto installed?
     
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    Use, the above mentioned, Image Capture. :)
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Yeah, actually, I also have not really felt the need to be able to mount my camera as a drive. But also the other option that is available is Canon's software (ImageBrowser). It can actually do one or two interesting things, although I am happy to let iPhoto manage my work. :)
     
  11. Hungarianguy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    #11
    I have a Cannot PowerShot s45 and i do not think the camera automatically mounts. What I have seen is that I'm able to import only some photos with iphoto. The image capture software cannot provides sucks (at least it's terrible on the windows machines).

    Is there some kind of patch that i can use to pretend the camera is a hard drive.
     
  12. KOR1212, May 26, 2012
    Last edited: May 26, 2012

    KOR1212 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #12
    Finally found a way to get photos off a camera without using iPhoto

    To "see" images/movies on my device, the mac application called Image Capture has worked well for me. (I didn't have to download; it was already on both my macs.)

    This was mentioned above and I found instruction to do this here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2498
    (You have to scroll down to the section titled "To transfer images from your camera using Image Capture".)

    Once my camera is connected and turned on, I've been able to find it listed in Image Capture as a device (worked for a Nikon CoolPix S6100 and a Kodak EasyShare M550). From there, I'm able to select individual or all photos and movies to import to the folder of my choosing. There's an option to delete the photo/movie after importing, which does get it off the camera, but as far as I can tell, you can't just delete things through Image Capture without importing first.

    Even though this is an old thread, I decided to post since I'd been forever having a similar issue of wanting to pull pics directly from my camera like it was a hard drive and having to do this through iPhoto. Sometimes you really don't want to download everything on your camera into your iPhoto library just to get to the few pics that you need.

    Hope this helps!
     

Share This Page