How to Network 2 Macs ...?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by fab5freddy, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro 15" intel running Tiger 10.4.11,
    and a Brand new Mac Pro Tower running Leopard 10.5.2...

    I have plugged an Ethernet cable between the 2 Macs,
    but cannot seem to find a connection between the two...?

    Is there something i have to do in Network System Prefs ?

    thanks!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Yes, go to System Preferences > Sharing, and check File Sharing (or any other networking services you wish to enable). ...You'll need to do this on both macs.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    have you turned on File Sharing in Sharing Preferenes? your MBP should appear under "Shared" in the Finder sidebar on the MP and vice versa for the MBP.

    also instead of plugging an ethernet cable from the MP to the MBP all the time why not just plug the MP into a wireless router and then just file share to the MBP wirelessly? thats if you have a wireless router of course.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #4
    ok, so far, so good......

    now i can see both computers, but i can only get into the Public Drop Box..
    How can i get into the entire Mac ..?

    thanks!
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #5
    If you connect the two computers directly together via ethernet, you need a crossover cable.

    It's probably easier to use a switch or a router that has a switch.

    You'll need to open up other folders for sharing in System Preferences.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    No you don't. Macs have auto-switching ethernet ports.
     
  7. macrumors member

    decal

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Preston Vic, Australia
    #7
    That's the great thing about macs you do not need a cross-over cable any old eithernet cable will do!!
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Naturally, wireless will be numerous times slower, but for the added convenience it may be worth it.

    Or you can click on "Connect As..." at the top of the finder window and enter your user name and password for the other computer.

    In fairness, PCs now contain the same auto-switching ports.
     
  9. macrumors member

    decal

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Preston Vic, Australia
    #9
    Well there you go, I did not know PC now had auto-switching ports! The things you learn reading MacRumors forums.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #10
    Sweet.
     

Share This Page