how to open this

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by pectin232, May 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #1
    Move the com.apple.Image_Capture.plist and com.apple.ImageCaptureApp.plist files out of your /Library/Preferences/ folder onto the Desktop, restart, and launch Image Capture.

    Only com.apple.Image_Capture.plist was present in that directory, but I moved that, rebooted the Macbook, and found that Image Capture was now back to normal.

    where is this folder located on my macbook Air??? I am having problems with the image capture and iPhoto and as it used to open my phone automatically to upload photos to iPhotos but it stopped doing so.. someone at Apple support suggested doing this... please help
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    Those two plist files should both be in /Users/username/Library/Preferences

    Click on your desktop to bring focus to the Finder then hit shift-command-g all at the same time and a box will popup. Type /Users/username/Library/Preferences in the box (substituting your real user name for "username") and hit enter.

    You should see both those files in the folder that comes up.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #3
    Thanks so much I will try it when I get back tonight... somehow now when I connect my phone iPhoto does not open it up anymore like before...
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #4
    You should be able to set that option in Image Capture. You do have to have the phone connected on USB for this option to appear though.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #5
    I attached a phone the Android Samsung S2 to it.. before and it immediately showed in Image Capture... for iPhone 4s it works immediately.. but the Galaxy s2 works too about 3 weeks ago but suddenly it stopped... after I installed VMWare Fusion.... maybe something to do with that. Anyone knows why? I have 3 phones.. one for work 2 for others.. relating to home and small business.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #6
    It very well could be that the VMWare install jacked up the USB drivers in some way.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #7
    How to remove VMWare then? Thanks or re install the USB drivers?
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #8
    Looks like this would do it.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #9
    I removed VMWare Fusion 4 but my camera or other devices still cannot be connected or recognized. Any ideas on what can be done?
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #10
    When you connect these devices, can you see them in the sidebar in the Finder?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #11
    no it does not.. before it did when I just got the MacBook Air 3 mths ago.
     
  12. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #12
    Try making a new dummy user account then login with that account and see if the devices connect. That will tell you if it is something specific to your account or systemwide.
     

Share This Page