How to play video from PowerMac onto TV - please help! :)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by JasonGough, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    JasonGough

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    I've just moved house, and i'd love to be able to watch the video i have on my Mac on the TV in the living room.

    Is there any hardware / connections that will alow me to get quicktime videos up on my TV?

    Please help me out!
     
  2. macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #2
    What kind of inputs does your TV take?

    HDMI? component?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    JasonGough

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    sorry, should have said..

    its a fairly old TV, so just Scart & those little yellow Video leads you get.

    Idealy, i'd like to be able to use FrontRow to select my videos rather than the horrible interfaces i've seen on some PCtoTV devices...

    I can use somthing like KeySpan to control FrontRow from a different room, so i'd like a simple graphics connection converter rather than an entire interface...
     
  4. macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    I think that can get potentially hairy.

    First you'd need a DVI-VGA adapter which probably came with your machine.
    Then there is also a VGA - component convertor which does costs quite a pretty penny.

    That's my take on the problem though, others might have better ideas, good luck.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    Isn't there an adapter from apple, just for the iMacs, iBooks/MacBooks and PowerBooks/MacBook Pros have an adapter that goes into composite video and s-video?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    JasonGough

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
  7. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #7
    try to get an S-video to scart lead, it'll give much better quality, but for now any composite lead will do, even and audio lead.
     

Share This Page