How to quickly preview a font in illustrator?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by hdsalinas, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. hdsalinas
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
    Hi

    I have been using illustrator for years on windows enviroment and just recently switched to mac.

    On the windows version of Illustrator CS2 you can preview different fonts on the desired text by justn placing the cursor on the font selection bar and then simply press the up/down arrows keys. On mac it does not work that way and you have to select a font at a time.

    Is there a way to make it work as it does in illustrator?

    Thanks
     
  2. iMeowbot
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    Wanna know something even more annoying? It works just fine in Photoshop. I hope they do something about all these little inconsistencies with CS3.
     
  3. highres
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    highres

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Location:
    Near the Singularity
    #3
    This is the only way I know to do what you want, a quicker keyboard shortcut would be nice as this indirect method drives me crazy when choosing type faces.

    Type > Font

    To change the size of the preview:

    Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or Illustrator > Preferences > Type (Mac OS), and setting the Font Preview Size option.
     
  4. ChicoWeb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #4
    It is annoying isn't it. I find myself previewing fonts in PS, then adding it with Ill. Probably not the most efficient way, but It beats going one by one in Ill.
     
  5. highres
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    highres

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Location:
    Near the Singularity
    #5
    Another solution along these lines that also works is having Font Book open while designing in Illustrator, still a pain though.
     
  6. dogbone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #6
    Font explorer x is even better, you can set type and background colours as well as previewing different fonts or faces simultaneously.
     
  7. tranceteria
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #7
    YOU ARE A GOD, OR I'M TOO IGNORANT!!!!! LOL
    BUT SERIOUSLY! THANKSSS!
     
  8. Kwill
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Kwill

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    #8
    Selecting the font menu from the Character Palette displays font names in their individual typefaces. If you click once on a font in the menu, you can then use up an down arrow keys to scroll through others. If text is highlighted in advance, it will not change until hitting the Enter key.
     
  9. supernoodle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #9
    better than where I was at...


    im on OS X and I still cant arrow through the font but from the drop down I can at least see each font name displayed as itself, any thoughts?
     
  10. opeter
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
  11. Anastasius
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #11
    Hi there! I came to this thread mentioning my creation. I'm the author of this tool, you can ask me any questions and make suggestions for new features.
    It was a really hard work, but I want to make it better for the community. I'm preparing the next update which is coming very soon. Thank you!
     
  12. Mhaddy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    Sorry for necromancing the thread, but does anyone know if this has been fixed in CS5 Illustrator?
     
  13. Jim Campbell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Jim Campbell

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Location:
    A World of my Own; UK
    #13
    Short answer: no.

    Upgrading to CS6 over the weekend, but I'm not holding my breath.

    Cheers

    Jim
     
  14. tobefirst
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #14
    Please let me (us) know because I'll be upgrading sometime this month and would like to know whether I should get my hopes up or not. Thanks, Jim!
     
  15. AlanShutko
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #15
  16. Mhaddy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    Hallelujah! Now to start saving my pennies for CS6... :eek:
     
  17. Jim Campbell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Jim Campbell

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Location:
    A World of my Own; UK
    #17
    There are, however, two absolutely maddening new bugs in Illustrator CS6:

    1) Using a Magic Mouse, Illustrator routinely fails to register a right click, treating it instead as a normal click. This is very frustrating if your workflow includes: double-click word to highlight; right-click to bring up 'Recent Fonts' contextual menu, since it means that you don't get the menu, you highlight the whole paragraph instead…

    2) You have multiple document windows open (I have a library document with some pre-made elements that I keep open behind the working page). CMD-TAB to another application (say, Word, to get your copy). CMD-TAB back to Illustrator.

    Whatever document you had frontmost in your stacking order will no longer be at the front and the other document will now be at the front. This doesn't happen if you use tabbed documents, but I loathe tabbed windows!

    I've filed bug reports with Adobe on both of these.

    Cheers

    Jim
     
  18. Mhaddy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    I've seen this in CS5, with a slight variation. If I have Illustrator open on Snow Leopard in a certain Space (let's say, #1), then go to Space #2 where Mail is to open an emailed draft, more often than not, Illustrator will open the draft in Space #2, not Space #1 where the other window was. What's irritating is that all of the Illustrator palettes are back in #1, so if I click on the draft in #2 and then go to edit it, it'll fly me back to #1 and I cannot edit #2.
     

Share This Page