How to record Sky digital onto my system

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BakedBeans, May 13, 2006.

  1. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #1
    Hi.

    I have Sky+ package in my house, How can i record the content onto my HD (it already records onto the internal HD of the sky+ system).

    I want it to record some premiership footy matches onto so i can make a montage next season.

    do i need some kind of eyeTV device?

    thanks
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Sky+ does not help you much. It uses a proprietary format that it's basically impossible to get the data out of. Your best bet is to record the analogue output of the Sky+ box via something like EyeTv.
     
  3. BakedBeans thread starter macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #3
    like through the svideo port or something?
     
  4. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    All you need is Audio Hijack. It hijacks the audio output stream before it reaches the physical output. It lets you record anything that comes out of your Mac's speakers and listen to it at the same time. The pro version let's you do other cool things like strap an eq over your Mac's audio output.


    Audio Hijack Pro ($16)
    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/16382

    Audio Hijack Pro ($32)
    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/18611

    and here's something that might go well with it
    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/23843
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    You realise that Sky is digital satellite TV right?
     
  6. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #7
    Um... Audio Hijack? Maybe while he's at it he could use TextEdit to make the video montage...
     
  7. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    I did not, I thought it was satellite radio. My bad.
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I figured! Sky is probably the most popular pay-for TV in the UK. Personally I am happy with the free stuff but if you want up-to-date Simpsons etc or sports it's basically the way to go.

    Sky+ has built in Tivo style functionality too.
     
  9. BakedBeans thread starter macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #10
    Probably the single funniest thing i have ever ever read on these forums!
     
  10. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    I think so. I don't have one (or Sky) so I can't say for sure...
     

Share This Page