How to remove Quicktime 6.5.2 and Install Quicktime pro 6.5

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by robbo007, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. robbo007 macrumors newbie

    robbo007

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    #1
    Hello all,

    Does anyone know how to remove QuickTime 6.5.2 and install an earlier version of Quicktime pro 6.5.

    When I run the install it complains that my version of QuickTime Pro 6.5.2 is newer than QuickTime 6.5 that I want to install.

    Do I just need to delete the Quicktime 6.5.2.app folder?

    Thanks,

    Rob
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    Aren't the quicktime versions the same just that the pro features are activated by the paid for serial?
     
  3. robbo007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    robbo007

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    #3
    Aparently not. The installer is complaining about that.??
     
  4. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but you don't actually install Quicktime Pro. Whatever version of Quicktime is installed, you can register Quicktime Pro by going into the preferences.

    Maybe I'm misunderstanding.
     
  5. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Yes, just trash Quicktime 6.5.2 and install 6.5.
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Exactly which mistake did Apple make when it updated QuickTime to 6.5.2?
     
  7. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #7
    What I was trying to say is that Quicktime and Quicktime Pro are the same program. There is no special 'Quicktime Pro' program. You enter your serial into quicktime and it unlocks the Pro features. You are trying to install an old version of quicktime when you probably don't need to as your serial almost certainly works on the version you have installed already.
     
  8. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #8
    That is correct.
     

Share This Page