How to replace my MBP Hard Drive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by erkanasu, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. erkanasu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #1
    I'm going to have CompUSA replace my 80 GB HD with a Hitachi 160 GB.
    The 80 GB is backed up on a USB HD via Superduper. After they replace the HD, how do I get the backed up contents on the clean 160 GB?
     
  2. firefoxnx macrumors member

    firefoxnx

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    be careful

    just be careful with opening and then putting back the case. u can get instructions on macsales.com.

    i screwed up my powerbook g4 ever since i put a new hard drive in.
     
  3. erkanasu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
  4. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #4
    Aren't the MacBook Pro hard drives user-replaceable like the MacBook hard drives? If so, you'll just have to take out the battery, remove a few screws, take out the old drive, put the new one in, and close it back up.
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    No, it's much more difficult on an MBP than on an MB.

    As for the original question, I've never used SuperDuper, but you should be able to just format the new drive using Disk Utility on your OS X disc, and then clone it back over using Super Duper. You'd need to have your old internal placed in an appropriate external enclosure and boot from it.
     
  6. hanschien macrumors 6502

    hanschien

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro/Hard-Drive
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    He's already got it backed up to an external*, but I agree than an external enclosure is a no-brainer purchase for the old drive.

    * USB, but, IIRC, Intel Macs can boot from USB drives, right?
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    Duh...thanks for straightening me out. :eek: :)

    And I know nothing about Intel Macs. :D
     
  9. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Yea, Intel Macs can boot from USB.
     

Share This Page