How to reset time machine?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by dacoolest, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #1
    I have set up time machine with one of my external HDD partition. But at the moment I have to change it to a different partition and start using again with new backups. Can someone please explain me how to get it reset?

    Has anyone used D-link router's "USB storage" feature with a mac?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    iRooney

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #2
    The only router with USB luck i've had with time machine has been with the airport extreme, unless you can find a router that supports hfs file systems on USB drives.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    Go in to Time Machine preferences and hit "Select Disk...". Rather simple to do.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the reply.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #5
    Thanks. that worked. Although I couldn't find one of those files.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #6
    Another approach that worked for me recently when for some strange reason Time Machine had lost track of the backup disk (and hence I lost the exclusion list, too) was to go to a recent clone backup I had and copy the com.apple.TimeMachine.plist file from the backup to /Library/Preferences
     

Share This Page