iPhone How to restore as new without upgrading to 6.1.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iRetired, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #1
    Okay, here we go: I have a jailbroken 4S running iOS 6.1.2. I have already uninstalled all Cydia tweaks and apps, and, for good measure, installed and ran iLEX RAT.

    By the way, Gridlock 2 was the only Cydia app still present and active even after using iLEX RAT.

    Needless to say, the above procedures did not work to my satisfaction. Stock apps, e.g., Stocks, Weather, Passport, which I had hidden using Springtomize2, remain hidden and inaccessible.

    I have read and searched the Step-bystep Guide to Restore iPhone thread and found nothing relevant.

    So here's the question: how can I restore as new without upgrading to 6.1.3 and risk losing my jailbreak?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    You can't

    what you can try is go to settings/general/reset/ select reset home screen layout, that should get all your stock icons back
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    I just ran ilex rat and I somewhat had the same problem. Gridlock didn't uninstall. Not sure why that is.

    As far as restoring without updating, not possible.

    What problem are you having?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #4
    I am also having an issue that seems to be unresolved. I at about two-three times a day randomly lose signal and go to no service for few seconds. I tried iLEX rat, I tried resetting my network settings, I tried turning on and off airplane mode. I tried booting up my while holding the volume up button down and so the everything is disabled my phone seems stable on signal wise. It must be something with this jailbreak and I can't pin point what it is. If anyone has a suggestion that would help me out I would highly appreciate it.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #5
    So here's a little update now I guess even when my phone is in safe mode with all the tweaks and everything else disabled I am still losing service. I don't know what to do try to restore as new phone and see if this continues and hope to get a replacement with 6.1.2 or just wait it out until I am able to downgrade or if there's a new jailbreak
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Maybe there is something wrong with the tower you are connecting to.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #7
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I tried it. All it did was add another homescreen and moved a few of the already visible icons around.

    I known I should NOT use Erase All Content and Settings. But what if I clicked the top choice of Reset All Settings instead?
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #8
    Reinstall Springtomize 2 and unhide the stock apps.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #9
    This issue just started about maybe a week ago or so. I have had this iPhone 5 ever since release date. From what I googled and found this issue was well known and some had said this is a hardware issue because it was before the jailbreak. I am wondering if that's the case I don't know what to do nonetheless
     
  10. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #10
    If you hit reset home screen layout, you should get 2 option, use the default option.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #11
    Thanks for the suggestion. I already tried it. It did nothing. I also tried Reset All Settings, but all that did was erase my WiFi settings.

    And the search goes on...
     
  12. teamjaycub, Apr 11, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    #12
    DO NOT do this.
    This will force you to restore your device, which would mean you would be forced to update to 6.1.3.

    As of now, you cannot downgrade to 6.1.2 on an iPhone 4S.
     
  13. Applejuiced, Apr 11, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2013

    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Bad advise.
    Don't ever ever do this on a jb device.
    And you cannot restore back to 6.1.2 on a 4S even if you have full shsh blobs.
    People not knowledgable enough should avoid giving advice.

    To the op the correct answer is you cannot.
    Only thing you can do if you don't want to go up to 6.1.3 is delete all your stuff manually in order to stay jb.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #14
    Here's a thought: what would happen (if anything) if I tried to re-jailbreak my phone with the latest version of evasion? Or should I simply resign myself to the fact that these icons aren't coming back?

    I'd really like to get back into Flex, but the reinstall/remove respring/reboot rinse/repeat dance is getting a little old.

    ----------

    Been there, done that. Thanks for your help anyways.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    mikeydeezy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #15
    This is just a shot in the dark but have you tried something like iCleaner? Maybe a fresh clean might help.


    Hope something good comes of this! :eek:
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #16
    Thanks for your suggestion. Yes, I have tried both iCleaner and iCleanerPro to no avail.

    Maybe there's an industrial-strength iPhone cleaner out there I'm not aware of, like iLEX (which does not work).

    Keep those cards and letters coming, kids!
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    mikeydeezy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #17
    In the SBSettings menu is there an option to unhide those missing apps?

    Maybe that'll help.

    (If it was already suggested I'm sorry I don't have much time to read the entire thread).
     
  18. iRetired, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #18
    Mmmmmm. Now there's a thought. However, I have never installed SBSettings. But it sounds good. I will try it and see. Thanks for your help!

    GIVE THE MAN A CIGAR!!!

    I installed SBSettings and found that the icons for the stock apps were indeed turned off! How it happened that I have never used SBSettings is one of life's great mysteries!

    Thank you and here's an upvote for you!
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    mikeydeezy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #19

    Nice! I'm sure SB accesses the method tweaks use to hide apps. SB just has an easier way of turning them back on. Glad you didn't update.

    Feel free to sing praises of my excellence in your signature as payment ;)
     

Share This Page