iPhone How to restore iPhone 4S to iOS 6.1.2 to 6.1.2 without upgrading to 6.1.3?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ideal.dreams, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #1
    I have an iPhone 4S running iOS 6.1.2 and I need to restore it in order to switch the carrier (Apple sent me an iPhone replacement on Verizon network and I'm on Sprint network). I need to restore it to 6.1.2 though because I want to be able to jailbreak my phone afterwards.

    Is there any way to restore it to the same iOS it's currently on so I can jailbreak afterwards?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You can only restore an iPhone 4S to the currently signed firmware version when the phone is running iOS 6 or higher.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
  4. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    This is an exact quote of one of my other posts in a thread about this same subject.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    On top of that, the threadstarter acknowledged understanding his limitations on April 4th, yet the post you refer to was made April 9th.

    I think the OP "got it" long before today ! ;)
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #6
    How are you going to make a verizon iPhone work on sprints network?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #7
    Apparently Apple is able to update the phone's profile on their end and change the carrier. Turns out I didn't need to restore after all; inserting the SIM card into the phone somehow restarted the activation and the phone switched carriers from Verizon to Sprint.

    But before I did that, Apple recommended I restore the phone so it would switch to the right network. I didn't want to do that because iTunes would only let me restore to 6.1.3, which I didn't want to do because I wouldn't be able to jailbreak afterwards.

    At one point, the senior advisor that was handling the issue suggested I jailbreak the phone to switch the carrier :p. The phone already was jailbroken and in the midst of looking for unlock software, I popped the SIM back in (inserting it earlier did nothing for some reason) and it switched the carrier.

    Long story short, I was able to activate the phone without a restore, which was good news for me. Thanks for the replies!
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #8
    Sprint and verizon have the same frequencies?
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #9
    Something's not quite right with this thread.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #10
    I guess...when Apple sent me the phone I tried to activate it with Sprint. They were unable to activate it and when I checked under Settings > General > About, it said the phone's carrier was set to Verizon. I called Apple back and asked them to send me another replacement phone but they refused and insisted that they were able to change the carrier on their end.

    I'm not sure how it's done, but I was able to get the phone activated which is really all I wanted. Because of the activation failure, Sprint was not able to reactivate data on my broken iPhone so I was without data for almost a week.

    And what would that be?
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #11
    I could have sworn that verizon 3G and sprint 3G were on different frequencies and the phones lacked the hardware to be used on both.

    Are you getting 3G or is there a "O" (ring) displayed next to the carrier ID in the upper left hand corner?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #12
    It was an "O" at first but is now on 3G. The senior advisor told me there was such a thing as a Sprint iPhone and a Verizon iPhone but when I talked to him on a later day he told me that there aren't two versions. I don't know which to believe, but like I said...the issue has been resolved so it doesn't matter much to me anymore.

    I also should mention that this situation hasn't happened to me but to my cousin; he doesn't know much about iPhones so I was helping him out. So any instance above where I say "I", I mean "my cousin." :p
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #13

    So apple ended up doing nothing on there end and all you had to do was insert your old sprint SIM card? And then you got 3G?
     
  14. ideal.dreams, Apr 9, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #14
    No, Apple changed the profile for the phone on their end, as stated. That originally did nothing and the advisor said I had to restore the phone for it to take effect. I didn't want to do that and then he suggested jailbreaking it to do it. While I was looking for the unlock software, my cousin popped in the SIM to the phone and it started to activate.
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #15
    How did apple change the carrier settings? Over the air or via iTunes ?
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #16
    Over the air.
     
  17. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #17
    How to restore iPhone 4S to iOS 6.1.2 to 6.1.2 without upgrading to 6.1.3?

    Wow! Didn't know apple could do that.

    Maybe we could start asking apple to unlock phones for us.
     
  18. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    They've had the feature to update the firmware over the air since iOS 5 and carrier settings I believe iOS 4

    It's up to the carrier to unlock your phone or not. If you're GSM, you can buy the factory unlocked version from then
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #19
    So I could ask apple to change my iPhones carrier settings to sprint so I could use my verizon iPhone on sprints network?
     

Share This Page