How to rip DVD clips at full quality for demo reel

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ctone, Feb 4, 2007.

1. ctone macrumors member

Nov 28, 2006
    I need to make a demo DVD of my video/audio work, which needs to be the best quality I can achieve. Much of the source material will come from commercial DVDs. These would of course be copy protected, but my purpose is to just edit together a demo reel DVD of clips, not make full copies. Some other material will come from VHS tapes, which I am planning to pass through my Sony miniDV camcorder (unless someone here tells me that the quality of the Canopus box is that much better that it is worth buying just for this purpose.)

Anyway, I need advice on how to rip clips off of commercial DVDs for this purpose at full quality (no compression). I need to keep the video and audio quality intact as much as possible. As far as I can tell, Handbrake does it only with compression. I am a music engineer and a novice in this area, so be gentle:eek: thanks
  2. pianojoe macrumors 6502

Jul 5, 2001
    N 49.50121 E008.54558
    So you are going to use commercial video clips to promote your business, actively circumventing digital copy protection on the way.

1. You will get caught.

2. DVD video is already compressed. Unless your NLE system can handle MPEG2, you will have to convert the video if you want to do destructive editing. If it's just for using individual clips, you can always toss these into your DVD mastering app of choice. (DVDSP?) But beware: Not all DVD players/software players take lightly on changing compression rate and audio codec in the middle of a movie.
  3. bmb012 macrumors 6502

Jul 25, 2006
    Not trying to be too mean or anything, but using commercial DVD clips to promote a business is probably the most n00b thing a professional could possibly do.

If someone showed me a demo reel that contained DVD rips instead of client work, I'd just laugh at them.
  4. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

Jan 19, 2007