How to rip to iTunes if using Apple TV + iPod Touch + Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by RichardF, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Hello folks,

    I searched but I have not found the answer to my exact question:

    How should one rip his/ her DVD collection if the set-up is as described in the thread title?

    If the DVDs are ripped to the :apple:TV format and put into iTunes then can the iPod touch sync with iTunes and pick-up the videos in the :apple:TV format as well, or should the DVDs be ripped to iTunes to the iPod Touch format and then the :apple:TV will be able to play them?

    I am asking because the image size, quality is smaller/ lower on the video ripped for use with an iPod Touch than it would be if ripped for the :apple:TV.


    Side note: the app/ method is used for ripping is incidental but for info I use the elgato Turbo.264.


    Thank you in advance for helping if you have knowledge/ experience with a similar set-up.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Ripping movies to the "iPod large" preset in Handbrake (the 640 x whatever one) will give you the best balance of quality on the AppleTV and "being able to play" on the iPod touch.

    The iPhone/iPod touch preset resizes the video down to 480px wide to save on bitrate, since that's as large as those devices screens can possibly show video.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    Oh I see, so the answer is to rip to the resolution where the iPod Touch and the :apple:TV max playable resolutions overlap.

    In Handbrake I see there is a preset for iPod High-Rez. Is this the one you had in mind?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    You have to rip the DVD's at the lowest format you plan to use. If you plan to use the iPod Touch and the ATV, you must rip for the touch. Otherwise the touch can't play the video in the ATV format. Yes, the quality does suffer if ripped in the touch format and viewed on the ATV, but if you want to use both devices, you must rip to the lowest format.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    yes
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #6
    Thank you guys.

    I am surprised this isn't being mentioned by people. I am sure many own both and had to "compromise" as well.

    How about ripping a DVD using the Classic preset in HandBrake and then use the iTunes Advanced menu to convert each movie to 1) iPod resolution then 2) :apple:TV resolution and finally 3) deleting the "classic" ripped file.

    Alternatively perhaps just rip the DVD directly to 1) and 2) from HandBrake.

    This would mean ending-up with two versions of each movie = more space required but then the playback quality would be best I guess.
    I can use the Time Capsule USB port to connect a 1TB external HDD to store the iTunes library.

    Does this make sense?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #7
    If you want better quality, do this:

    1. Start with the Ipod - High Quality setting as stated above.
    2. Go into picture settings and up the resolution to 720xN (N depending on aspect ratio).
    3. Up the bitrate to 2000.

    This will give you DVD quality that play on both the Touch and the Apple TV.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    I'm pretty sure neither no iPod can decode H.264 video in excess of 640 pixels wide, even if the total area is under 640 x 480.

    Also, no reason to rip 720 if it's a 4:3 DVD.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #9
    What I did was rip in ATV quality and increased the bitrate to 3000 and saved as new preset in HB.

    Since I don't use TV shows, I then have iTunes convert to iPhone format and label new iPhone copy as a tv show. The only thing you have to do is label the series as your Movie name once it is under tv shows. It works for me and keeps the copies seperate, but available.

    Now it appears under iPhone as an available TV show to transfer.

    EDIT: Did any check to see if they increased the bitrate/resolution for iPhone/Touch with 1.1.3 update. Wishful thinking.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #10
    Not true. All current generation Ipod and iphone can play up to 720x480 with bit rates up to 3000. In fact, the most recent update seems to have increased that minimum. The Simpsons movie rental was 853x432 with a bitrate around 2500. The Tech Specs on Apples site are not correct, try it yourself, I'm right.

    As for 4x3 material, 640x480 is the highest that can preserve the aspect ratio.

    If you to as I outlined above, you really cannot tell a difference between the Apple TV preset and the iPod compression even though it is technically inferior.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #11

    Great stuff, guys. I am going to use the elements you pointed out here to experiment and set-up my movies/ Tv shows library.

    I appreciate the time you took to respond and hope this helps others as well.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #12
    If you need help with Handbrake, let me now, I use it alot...make sure you check to create Chapter Markers (and you can name them if you want). I suggest ripping the audio as Dolby Pro Logic II if possible (if the DVD has a 5.1 Surround Track) at 160 Kps for best quality as that plays as Stereo on iPods and 5-Channel Surround on sound systems. This is the best way to get one file at the highest quality that plays on everything Apple makes now.

    Also, in Preferences, make sure you check the use iTunes Friendly .m4v format.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #13
    OK, thank you very much.

    From you replies/ signature, it looks like you know your stuff when it comes to video.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    Oh wow, that's nice, I didn't know they'd upped those specs. I'm going to have to test this out now.

    And yeah, by 2.5mbit, I'd imagine it's pretty hard to tell the difference between the Baseline LC and Main profiles in all but the most complicated scenes.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #15
    Aspect Ratio Help

    Instructions 1 and 3 are great & so clear.... But what do I use for "N" in item 2?

    If its 4:3 then N=?

    If its widescreen then N=?

    Sorry... newbie!
     

Share This Page