How to run Apple Hardware Test on Mac Pro with ML preinstalled? Please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AlexanderM, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. AlexanderM, Sep 3, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #1
    I have Mac Pro 5.1 (2012) which came with Mountain Lion preinstalled. It didn't have install DVDs. How do I run AHD? Restarting with D, or command+D, or option+D didn't work. It would just restart the OS. And Mac Pro didn't support Internet AHD either.

    :apple: MP 5.1 Quad 3.2 | 16Gb | ATI 5770
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #2
    I'm afraid you are caught in a difficult situation. Before Lion, AHT was part of the OS X installation and came with the Application Install DVD as explained in this article. Apple did away with DVD media and AHT installation when Lion came along, and 2011 and later Mac models mostly have Internet recovery function to download OS X or AHT except 2012 Mac Pro since it is essentially a 2010 model without the DVD media.

    If you really need to run AHT, you may have to contact Apple Support to figure out how to get it unless you have access to a copy of 2010 Mac Pro Application Install DVD. On the other hand, I've never heard any 2012 MP owners looking for AHT before. I used AHT when I first got my MP, but it was pretty useless and never bothered since. The more useful tool is ASD (Apple Service Diagnostic) as mentioned here, but is distributed for service providers.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    Mine was purchased in 2013 with ML pre-installed. I can reboot while holding down the "D" key and it takes me to the AHT.

    I do have to hold down the key for a very long time but it works. Just be sure to press it as soon as the machine starts rebooting. I hold mine there well after the chime and it works every time.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #4
    Same was mine. I put SSD in it and made clean install of ML. Then I wiped the original HDD and I use it as a storage drive. Can it be that new copy of ML came without AHT? Anyway holding down "D" key doesn't work.
     
  5. crjackson2134, Sep 4, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013

    macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    You need a recovery partition to access AHT. If you're not running raid you should be able to fix this. There are threads in the OSX section that explain how to create a recovery partition. Also, without one, you can't use the "Find my Mac feature".

    I've don'e myself ONCE, on a regular HD. Post your question in the OSX section and I'm sure you'll get the information. Otherwise, search for it in the OSX section, it's not hard to find.

    BTW, you can download the OSX installer and put it on a USB stick. Then you'll have the installation media you wanted. A clean install to a blank drive will also make a restore partition for you (provided it's not raid, and provided your drive isn't controlled by a problematic 3rd party SATA controller).

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1595829&highlight=recovery+partition Maybe you can find something here that will help.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #6
    I think I have a recovery partition. If I reboot holding command+R it brings a menu with "Re-install OSX", "Disk Utility" and so on. Isn't it the recovery partition?
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    I'm not sure, never had this type of issue myself. It just seems you were't getting a lot of activity, so I'm learning too as I try to help. I think you should post the question to one of the threads like the one I linked to. They are far more knowledgeable than I.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #8
    I may be mistaken but you need the factory-supplied Recovery HD partition to mount the AHT partition, not from the downloaded ML, as explained here. Since you've wiped out the original partition, it was gone forever. Other Mac owners could still use Internet Recovery to access AHT, but not MP's. Your best bet is still to contact Apple Support to find out your options.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
  10. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Wow, that's good to know. It seems ludicrous that there isn't some method of putting it back, but that does seem to be the case. At least it can still be utilized over the Internet.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    Interestingly, this user seems to have found a solution for some models, that should work on any model if the correct AHT image file is located.

    Read This
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #12
    Give up on AHT

    I came across the ASD for Mac Pro 5.1. It works perfect from usb thumb drive and has EFI or OS interface. Really liked it, so I gave up on AHT.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    Great, got a link handy?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #14
    I have a link but I am afraid it might be against forum policy to post it
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #15
    Check your PM's.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012

Share This Page