How to run Motion 2 on iBook?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Dave the Great, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. Dave the Great macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone know of a way to run Motion 2 on a 1.2 iBook?

    I tried to install, but it won't allow me because of the graphics card.

    Thanks.
     
  2. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Motion is very dependent on the graphics card. So you will need a machine with one of the following graphics cards:
    ATI Radeon X800 XT Mac Edition
    ATI Radeon 9800 XT (R360)
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (R350)
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (R300)
    ATI Radeon 9600 XT (RV360)
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro (RV350)
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 (RV M11)
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9600 (RV M100
    NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL (NV40)
    NVIDIA GeForce Go5200 (NV34M)
    NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra (NV34)
    NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT DDL

    If there is some kind of hack to get it to run, it would be very slow & tiresome to use.

    I had to get a G5 to run motion as my G4 wasnt up to it. :D
     
  3. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha....

    It won't let you install? PREPOSTEROUS!!!!!

    You do realize that minimum requirements are stated for a REASON, don't you? The iBook's graphics card will probably never be able to run an app like Motion. Quick question...you didn't BUY Motion for your iBook, did you?

    Oh, and I would also like to get your help on figuring out how to tow my ski boat with my a Ford Focus. For some reason...installing a trailer hitch has been tough...
     
  4. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #4
    I've actually seen a lot of cars like the focus with hitches... so I'm sure you could find a hitch... the real problem is the Focus probably wouldn't be able to move with the trailer attached. :)


    As for the Motion question, it uses a lot of core image stuff. Really, you need the video card. I've tried using it on a older G4 and it was awful (the way I did that was to boot the G5 into a target firewire mode, and boot the G4 off of it).
     
  5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Kinda my point...

    Exactly my point. Even if you COULD somehow get Motion 2 installed, the iBook wouldn't be able to do a damn thing with it.
     
  6. Dave the Great thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #6

    Yes, I did see the required graphics cards, but I thought it would still allow me to install.

    I didn't think it would be that intensive of a program.

    That's too bad that Apple had to cripple the iBook that much that it can't even install the program. :(
     
  7. Dave the Great thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #7
    I know. I felt like being a funny guy tonight.

    Yes, I bought Motion. I own FCP, After Effets Pro, etc. I was able to install them and I can run them.

    It seems like a new iBook should be able to run a ~2 - 300 program.

    There have been times before where I have run programs on computers that have not met minimum requirements and have been successful. I am glad that you have always been able to get the current top of the line constantly.

    How come there always seems to be a useless car analogy that is used with a computer question?

    Speaking of which... Have you ever used regular gas in a car that required the minimum of premium? It still ran, didn't it?
    Or did you ever use unleaded when leaded was required? You could still do it, right? (It would be useful to use a lead substitute as a work-around, but again that is what I was looking for... a work-around)

    Thanks for your humorous post!!
     
  8. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #8
    If you really want to install it, here's what you can try (note, I have not tested it):

    1) Copy the Motion.mpkg and Packages folder from the DVD to your hard drive. (Those folders are in a hidden directory on the disk called "Installer", in the finder choose Go -> Go to Folder and enter /Volumes/Motion/Installer)

    2) go to the Packages folder, and right click on Motion.pkg, choose "Show Package Contents"

    3) Open InstallationCheck (in Contents/Resources/) with a text editor

    4) Delete the line that reads: `"$Package_Path/Contents/Resources/DetectGraphicsCard"`;

    5) now run the Motion.mpkg file
     
  9. Voidness macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #9
  10. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #10
    I sometimes slow my G5 to a crawl in Motion, and thats with a 2.5G5, 2 GBs ram, and a NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL. Its a very demanding program and i could not imagine it even running the simplest effect on an iBook.
     
  11. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    Ha! Motion is one the most intesive apps in the world, so why the hell the low-end consumer laptop should be able to run it, if the older G5s really struggle with it???
     
  12. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    same here with a D2.7! From what i understand you need the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT DDL card make quite an improvement on the G5
     

Share This Page