How to run Panther on a 25MHz Centris 650

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
  2. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #2
    this made me smile.

    why do people climb mountains? because they're there.
    why would you do this? because with a little work, you can.

    I wanna see the xbench score :D
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Pitch forking mulch in Nova Scotia, Canada
    #3
    I love the last thing he says
    "Resurrecting my Mac II (68020 with FPU) in order to get an even slower machine booting OSX. I expect to have this done by the time longhorn ships."

    Hahaha, which means a LONG time from now.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #4
    I was thinking about doing something like this except I wanted to see how PearPC works on my mac through VPC. Pointless yes..... but it's all about the just because I can fact.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Hmm... I wonder if a new version of PearPC could cut that boot time in half - from 6.6 days to 3.3 days. That's a huge improvement compared to a boot time improvement on my iMac with the bootcache working vs. not working: 60 sec without, 30 sec with. Try the same thing on a PowerMac G5, and the difference is even less significant: something like 40 sec without and 20 sec with.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    yay, it's more than enuff work for me to install linux on a 68k.. :p
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #7
    if i can find a replacement drive for my centris 610 i might do put panther or even tiger on it :)
     
  8. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #8
    I've got an old Mac Classic II kicking around somewhere. Once I get it back from my friend, I was thinking about using it as a 'recipe book' in the kitchen, but installing Mac OS X would be a lot more fun! 128x128 icons on a 512x384 screen, narly!!
     
  9. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #9
    How about a 604e? Anyone have Panther running on a 200Mhz tower like I happen to have lying around?

    I don't want anything on PearPC... I'd like to run real OS X if I can.

    For no good reason...
     
  10. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #10
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Hmm

    So does this mean I could install Panther on my 7.14 Mhz Amiga 500. :rolleyes: :D
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    some people just have too much time on their hands... :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page