how to setup osx firewall to open a specific port?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by phuong, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    in the Sharing section of the System Preference, there are a few default services such as Personal File Sharing, Windows Sharing... and so on... that i can set to open.
    however, these are very limited. there are certain other ports that i need to open such as 6112 to 6119 for Warcraft III, in order to host games on battle.net

    right now, i often find myself having to turn the firewall off in order to host my own games. if the firewall is turned on, no body would see my game at all.

    please help!!
     
  2. Carlsen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    When you're at the firewall menu, press "new". This allows you to set up a new rule.
    The drop-down menu has an item called "Other". Select this.
    You can now name your rule whatever you'd like (ie. "Halo" if it's a rule for some ports Halo uses).
    Select the ports you need opened and save.

    Also, deselect the "stealth" feature. I think it's off by default. This will propably cause some problems with your game hosting aswell.
     
  3. phuong thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #3
    works like a charm.
    stealth mode is enabled but people still can detect me now.
    thanks a bunch!!!
     
  4. macgig macrumors newbie

    macgig

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #4
    the firewall menu? new? I see no settings for this. am I missing something? in my firewall, I can allow or block programs, but I can't open or close specific ports... I have OSX 10.6.6



     
  5. Ellizit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #5
    "new" can be accessed by clicking the "+" icon, but I also do not see a way to simple open a port. Clicking the "+' opens the dialog for choosing a program, not a port.
     
  6. GylesM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #6
    I am also looking for help opening a specific port. Because of how my game server gets launched, there is not a specific app that can be selected in the firewall menu.
     

Share This Page