How to share volume to PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by G4Grover, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. G4Grover macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Hi there All -

    I am able to connect to my PC and access its shares normally, and I can connect from the PC to Powerbook, but all I see is the shared folders for the user I am authenticating with (which is an Admin user). For example, I connect with user account 'Jason' and I see the \users\Jason\ file structure on the OSX volume.

    However, I want to access the whole 'Storage' volume from the PC.

    How can I do this?

    Below is machine and drive configuration information.

    Thanks!
    Jason


    Machine info
    Machine Model: PowerBook G4 15"
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.1)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1.33 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 512 MB
    Bus Speed: 167 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.8.6f0

    Drive info

    TOSHIBA MK6025GAS:

    Capacity: 55.89 GB
    Model: TOSHIBA MK6025GAS
    Revision: KA201B
    Serial Number: 44U49035S
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Protocol: ATA
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal
    OS9 Drivers: No

    OSX:

    Capacity: 19.67 GB
    Available: 6.39 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s3
    Mount Point: /

    Storage:

    Capacity: 36.09 GB
    Available: 34.93 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s5
    Mount Point: /Volumes/Storage
     
  2. Natalia81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #2
    So you're trying to access other resources outside your home folder from your windows machine, correct?

    I had the same problem last week. There are 3rd party software you could use. I can't remember the name of it. But I didn't want to install it. So I ended up modifying the smb.conf file.


    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=92756&highlight=samba


    Not sure if there's an easier way, but I did it thru the terminal.
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Probably SharePoints, it's nothing to worry about, just install it.
     
  4. G4Grover thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Exactly what I am looking to do... thanks so much!!!

    I'll give this other thread a look over and try it today!

    Jason
     
  5. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #5
    yep. sharepoints is what i use. it is pretty cool. most of the stuff you could do with terminal commands but sharepoints makes it easy and all in one place!
     
  6. G4Grover thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    SharePoints is magic!

    Dang, that was EASY!

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page