How to sync data between two internal hard drives...same Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by breathofj, May 12, 2005.

  1. breathofj macrumors newbie

    breathofj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    #1
    Okay, I've got a Dual 500 G4 with two hard drives inside. The first one is a 20 gig that I initially set everthing up on. It's partitioned into two, one for Classic and one for OS X. Yes, I was a very early OS X adopter.

    Anyway, I also have a 80 GB internally, and really need to start booting from that one. The 10 GB partition for OS X on my other hard drive is nowhere NEAR enough, and it's so annoying to have to delete files all the time just so my machine can run.

    So, I've installed Panther on my big hard drive, and really would like to keep all my settings from my other drive. For instance, all the OS X settings that would allow me to keep my other users, address info, calendar, etc.

    Is there an easy way to do this, and if so, do you guys know how? I'm assuming with Mac, there's gotta be a way.

    All I know is that I HAVE to get this 80 GB running as my boot up drive, because the 10 GB just ain't cutting it anymore.

    Thanks in advance for your help :)
     
  2. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #2
    You may want to try dragging your user folder from one to the other.
    Apart from that i'm not sure.
     
  3. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #3
    I use Silverkeeper to make a bootable backup of my primary drive to my external drive. It should work just as well with two internal drives I would think.
     
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    Carbon Copy Cloner!

    Linkety to their site. Basically, you clone your current drive to the new drive and that's it. No need to install Panther.
     
  5. breathofj thread starter macrumors newbie

    breathofj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    #5
    First off...thanks for all the suggestions :)

    Second, I may go with what's quoted above. It's the pain-in-the-butt route, but I didn't mention that I already have a TON of stuff on my 80 GB drive. I don't want to lose that stuff, so I don't want to replace the data on there.

    Mechcozmo, do you happen to now if Carbon Copy Cloner would replace my 80 GB drive with the info from my other one, or if it would just put all that info in a separate place on my big drive? I realize that question might not make sense :p

    I'm basically asking if I use Carbon Copy Cloner, and replicate my smaller hard drive info to my big drive, does that REPLACE the data currently on that drive?
     
  6. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    Unfortunately in Tiger it only Clones directly... or it can make a disk image.

    So, back up everything. Everything! And check those backups too.

    Now erase the 10 GB drive and the 80 GB drive. Install Panther onto the 80 gig drive and start the restoration. If you have Tiger, just cleanly install Tiger.... but if you don't, oh well.

    This might be a good time to invest in a nice FireWire external hard drive for your backups...
     

Share This Page