How To Take Screenshot?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ssj300, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. ssj300 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #1
    in jpeg mode
    not png????

    is there an option? i can't find
     
  2. jmufellow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #2
    I enjoy using this widget for screenshots, and it has a jpeg option. If you have Tiger give it a try: http://www.columbia.edu/~slc2111/

    :edit: Or you can download tinkertool and set what file format you want screenshots to be saved as under the "General" pane. http://versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/11967

    If you use tinkertool, you have to logout before the changes take effect!
     
  3. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #3
    Once you open the file in preview, just save it as a jpeg.
     
  4. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #4
    Or any other format that your little heart desires! :) :)
     
  5. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #5
    Better yet, take the image, drag and drop it on an Automator program that converts it to jpg for you! I'll make a script and post it here

    EDIT: How to use: Drag and drop X amount of images as you want converted onto the Application. Choose a place to save the images too (ANYWHERE BUT THE PLACE WHERE THE IMAGES ARE ALREADY), choose type to save it to and BAM there ya go.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Or one way you can do this is by changing what format X uses by:

    1. Use property List Editor and open up com.apple.screencapture.plist from your home directory/library/preferences Or if it does not exist use the steps at the bottom.

    2. then change the string from png with jpg, or tif, or pct.

    3. save the file, log out log in.

    If it does not exist:
    1. open property list editor file:new
    2. in the window click new root button
    3. select the new root, then click the triangle on the left of its name
    4. click the new child button
    5. replace the words new item with "type"
    6. in the value thing type the format for example "jpg":D

    Save the file
     
  7. Gambuchi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Screenshots

    Try either one, the first is for a user selected area of the screen and the second is for the entire screen aparent.

    "cmd;shift;4"

    "cmd;shift;3"
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    Amazingly enough, there's a Mac Guide that addresses this very issue. You'll notice that there's a single Terminal command to change the format and a second one to implement the change...no need to log out and back in.
     
  9. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #9
    that is really quite some widget.
     
  10. ssj300 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #10

    (this is hte one im looking for)
     
  11. iDONTdoWINDOWS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Riverton, Utah
    #11
    I agree, It is really cool.
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    Thanks for the link jmufellow-
    That little widget is quite nifty! :)
     
  13. jmufellow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #13
    Yeah it is. It's another instance when you realize that (certain) widgets can be quite handy. Whoever made that did it just right.

    Isn't that redundant? :D
     
  14. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #14
    Yes, I suppose that it is- A "little" widget. :p

    Thanks for showing me the error of my ways! ;) :)
     

Share This Page