How to tell an iPhone's gb storage if it has no sim card?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by tstirling22, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #1
    I was recently given an iPhone 4 from a friend of mine, but it has no sim card. When i plug it into iTunes, there doesn't appear to be a way to check the storage capacity (16gb or 32gb). Is there any way that i can find out the storage capacity of this phone?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    If the phone is working, go Settings > General > About.
    A 16GB model should show about 14GB in the capacity, and I'm guessing the 32GB would show around 30GB.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #3
    I'm sorry I must be missing something. Where is settings located?

    EDIT: Never mind. The iPhone is in recovery mode. Is there any way i can check the storage capacity on my mac?
     
  4. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #4
    I don't remember if iTunes will tell you in recovery mode or not. You can try.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    The Settings app?

    EDIT: oops, I see you are having other troubles, don't know how to help there sorry.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #6
    The phone is in recovery mode. That's the whole point.
     
  7. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #7
    Ummm.... did you turn it over and look at the back? My 3GS shows that it is a 16GB model, printed right on the backside.
     
  8. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #8
    The iPhone 4 doesn't list a capacity on the back.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #9
    This is an iPhone 4. It doesn't say on the back.
     
  10. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #10
    Ahhhh, ok I didn't know that. I wonder why Apple removed that.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #11
    So then they don't need to make the distinction between the back plates. Instead of specifically making one for each capacity, they just make one so it can fit on any iPhone 4 and if they make an 8GB iPhone 4 later, then I guess they wouldn't need to worry about the extra 16 and 32gb back plates they might have (but then again, those can go for refurbs)
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #12
    The OP sounds like a troll. Seriously, you dont know where the settings button is?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #13
    Sorry. Clearly should've put this in the thread title. But the phone is in RECOVERY MODE meaning I can't access settings
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #14
    Restore the iPhone then you'll find out what the GB capacity is. If you have the original box that will of course also tell you.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #15
    I can't restore the phone because I don't have a sim card. Nor do I have the original box
     
  16. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #16
    OP, I truly feel for you. It's amazing how many people don't READ anymore. Good luck Sir!

    And no, you could not have been clearer.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #17
    Thanks for the support, QuarterSwede. I thought I was being clear too :)
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #18
    If this is an AT&T iphone, go to the AT&T store and tell them you need a pay as you go SIM. Put the minimum on it and have it activated. If they ask for the phone, tell them it's at home (don't be dumb and tell them it's an iphone). Cut the SIM to size and pop it in.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #19
    Hmm ok. Sounds like the only option at this point. The iPhone 4 uses a microsim though. That shouldn't be a problem though right?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    #20
  21. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #21
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Location:
    Versailles, KY (and that's pronounced Vurr-sales)
    #22

    I just did this with mine, and it simpley tells me that it is an iPhone 4. I broke my 8gb iphone 4 earlier this year and went to the Apple Store and paid the $150 to trade out for a refurb. I now have a 5 and am planning to sell this one. According to iTunes AND the settings, this has a capacity of 13.7gb. Are there any errors that could cause it to show the wrong capacity? I was thinking itunes might have somehow been showing the specs for one of our iphones, but I can't imagine how the settings in the phone would show the wrong specs.

    I came here to ask for help in making sure this is correct. I don't want to misrepresent anything on ebay. I believe I have instead convinced myself that this is correct. Good day to you. :D
     

Share This Page