How to test IE on Mac?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Gary King, Apr 2, 2006.

  1. Gary King macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    #1
    How do I test my website in IE on a Mac? What options do I have? Only Virtual PC? (Which is rather expensive to simply test IE.)
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You can test with Mac Internet Explorer too, however it uses a different rendering agent to Windows IE so it displays pages differently. There are cheaper emulators available like iEmulator for $23.95 or Guest PC for $69.99

    these aren't as quick as Virtual PC but for web testing that isn't an issue, you'll also need a copy of windows to install on these emulators, Windows 98 or Windows 2000 (best) are better than XP as it will run pretty damn slow.

    You can also download Q for Mac OS X which is free but harder to use.

    You will also need to "aquire" a copy of windows too though.
     
  3. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #3
    The same way as those building sites on PCs check for Safari...

    1. You don't or
    2. You have a cheap test system that can

    Once you've got the main structure of a site in place, it's less urgent to test the content fill so perhaps borrow a PC for that phase.
     
  4. cairo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #5
    Not sure if you have access to a Windows terminal server but thats how I test for IE...
     
  5. cairo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #6
    Even a XP machine which you can RDP into would work ...
     
  6. ipacmm macrumors 65816

    ipacmm

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #7
    I would just buy a really cheap window pc, you can get some really good deals on them which I think is always better then Virtual PC or any other emulators.
     
  7. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #8
    Couldn't you test it using IE for Mac? I know it's no longer available, but you can still find copies of it floating around on the net. I don't know whether it's up to date enough to be useful to you though.
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    See post #2 in this thread.
     
  9. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #10
    Oops, I think my powers of observation have failed me (either that or it has something to do with the fact that it's 2.30 am). :eek:
     

Share This Page