How to transfer data?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jonathanm1222, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #1
    I just purchased the 21" iMac. I already have the 15" MacBook Pro. What is the easiest, most direct method for transferring/copying the entire contents from the MacBook to the iMac?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    migration assistant is part of the OS. It is a good starting point.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #3
    If your MBP has thunderbolt:

    Get a thunderbolt cable
    Put the MBP into target disk mode
    Connect the cable to the imac
    run migration assistant on the iMac.
    Transfer the users from the MBP.
    (I personally prefer to reinstall apps and other bits on new systems, so don't use the other options in Migration assistant to migrate settings, apps, etc... You can if you want, but I like my new systems as clean as possible)


    If your MBP only has firewire, you'll need the thunderbolt firewire adapter, the can do the above.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #4
    This.
    But, then the OP has to buy one of these cables, if the OP has an external disk he could make a backup with Carbon Copy Cloner or TimeMachine and then use migration Assistant,
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    Connect the two machines together with a ethernet cable and run Migration Assistant.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #6
    Is ethernet faster than using a firewire 800 to thunderbolt cable?
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    GB ethernet is rated faster, but FW is more efficient at moving a lot of small files like a MA transfer... so I think they would be pretty close.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #8
    Buy a Cat6 ethernet cable not a Cat5. It is faster.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #9
    How to transfer data?

    Wouldn't a thunderbolt cable connecting the two computers result in the fastest download? If so, approximately how long would it take to transfer about 150 gb of data using a thunderbolt cable with migration assistant?
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #10
    I'm going to be doing the same as the OP, but getting the 27' iMac and transferring from MBP 17 -2009.

    I'm unfamiliar with migration assistant. Basically all I want to transfer is my eMail, iTunes and the docs/music/movies directories.

    Does migration assistance allow selective restore, or is it 'all or nothing' ?
     
  11. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #11
    It would theoretically, but much of this depends on limitations of disk speed, plus Migration Assistant itself does a bunch of thrashing around figuring out what to move, and that takes time. Honestly, I would not buy a $50 TB cable for a one time use like this.

    I moved about 20GB between two MacBooks over GB ethernet and that took a little over an hour, just to give you an idea.

    It allows some control. You will get the below screen. So you can either move apps in or not, for example, but there is no way to move only some apps. The things you are talking about would come in under the users checkbox, and again... it is all or nothing.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #12
    I'm going to be doing fresh installs of all my apps. And manually picking and choosing my files to move via HD. I don't want my iMac to be plugged up with old cached files and garbage from my laptop. haha.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #13
    Thanks Weasel, very informative! :D
     
  14. macrumors regular

    CaptMike

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #14
    Is this also true when wanting to transfer files from a PC/Windows to the imac?
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #15
    Migration assistent's primary goal is to let all your settings function again on a new mac. On a windows machine everything is organised different, and apple does not offer a service to organise that into mac-locations.

    Easiest is to share your drive on the windows machine, connect over IP, and see the windows machine pop up in the finder.
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #16
    Yep... it works pretty much the same. You need to install the Windows Migration Assistant program from Apple from here. There are some limitations what comes over from Windows depending on version.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    CaptMike

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #17
    Thanks for the effort but a bit of bad information given as show here:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2518

    ----------

    Thank so much
     

Share This Page