How to uninstall?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by MacKenzie999, Jun 2, 2004.

1. MacKenzie999 macrumors regular

Jan 24, 2002

I'm wondering if there's any way to discover which files get installed when installing an application? I have a couple of apps I wish to uninstall and I know they left files hidden on my system.

PS be gentle I am a designer not a hardcore tech guy

2. 7on macrumors 601

Nov 9, 2003
    Dress Rosa
    If they don't have an installer, the best way is to ask the developer.

Otherwise just drag the app to the trash.
  3. abhishekit macrumors 65816

Nov 6, 2003
    akron , ohio
    mostly there would be a file in library/preferences, or their may be one in library/application support..
    you can search in finder, you wd get most of the files ..

4. jxyama macrumors 68040

Apr 3, 2003
    it's probably informative to know why you can just drag and trash most apps in OS X. the reason is that despite the fact application icons look like icons, they hide behind it all the resources needed by the app. it's self-contained, except for minor preference files and such. (which needs to be stored with access with each user so can't be contained in the app itself.)

such isn't the case under windows where installation modifies system files or adds files needed by the program in system folders. so removing the application icon won't remove everything the app installed, including some files left behind at system levels.

for OS X, trashing the icon won't remove all the files related to the app either, but those left behind are very, very inconsequential. they are usually preference files, which are less than a MB and are harmless text files.

anyway, that was a long winded way of saying whatever is left isn't worth worrying about. but if you really want to know, you can use the Finder search on the app's name to locate many (if not most) files left behind. but unless you contact the developer, you never know for sure.