how to use automater

Discussion in 'macOS' started by wrxguy, Jul 9, 2005.

1. wrxguy macrumors 6502a

wrxguy

I am fairly new to Mac's and I am curious if anyone could help use Automater... I get the impresion it is quite usefull but im just not sure how to use it

2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

puckhead193

i'll second that! i wish apple had a workshop or something for it at the local apple store.

3. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

macbaseball

I'd just like to see a simple PDF on Apple website, that I could print out and then follow the instructions. Everyone says once your in Automator it's easy, but I just need somewhere to start. I don't understand how the different flows work, but then again I usually quit after 10 minutes of messing around with it.

4. iHateWindows macrumors 6502

5. Applespider macrumors G4

Applespider

looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    Open up the example workflows in Automator and see how they're structured and work your way through them, running them on some test files.

Basically, you need a source of files/URLs/Events to start the workflow with and then just drop a trail of actions onto them. Automator is pretty good about telling you what source files/URLs/Images it needs at the start of an Action and what the end product of the Action will be.

One thing that threw me to start with was the 'Get Specified Finder Items' since I didn't know exactly what Finder items I wanted to do things to yet so how could I tell Automator! Once I figured out that it just meant that if I highlighted Finder items when I wanted to run a plug-in, it all made a little more sense.

6. cooknwitha macrumors 6502a

cooknwitha

My first automated action was renaming photos and resizing them to include in an email and it was so easy! So full of confidence I tried to do the PDF watermark workflow and that's when my confidence ended. I just can't get it to work.