How upgrade Xcode + iOS SDK?

Discussion in 'iPhone/iPad Programming' started by melodosgr, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    I was quite astonished that there is not enough consolidation to Xcode in order to allow an update feauture which will get me from Xcode 3.2.2 to 3.2.4 + iOS sdk 4.1 from 3.x.x

    Can someone tell me how to get through the upgrade session? I wish to delete all the prior xcode 3.2.2 folders on my mac as i'm running on low disk space but i thought that the 4.1 replaces the old files which is apparently not? I'm really confused..

    Should i delete all the files in the developer folder??

    Thanks :confused:
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #2
    sudo <Xcode>/Library/uninstall-devtools --mode=all

    <Xcode> is your SDK install directory (normally /Developer).

    Then install the new version.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #3
    Thanks, thats what i did. Hopefully Apple will implement an update feature within xcode. I would also like to see a more integrated environment like all the other IDEs and not separated tools: (Interface Builder, Xcode, Iphone Simulator).
     
  4. Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #4
    You will, in Xcode 4.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #5
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #6
    Just out of curiosity, is there anything wrong with just installing a new version (say 3.2.5...) over the current version without first uninstalling it?

    I've been wondering the same thing, and it's part of why I haven't installed the new version to test 4.2 features yet.

    On the same token, if you do install 3.2.5 beta will you still be able to compile for iOS 4.1 at all? Or does that get replaced by 4.2?
     
  7. Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #7
    I've done it a ton of times and never had any issues. But I always keep betas separate from production versions.

    You can't set your Base SDK to 4.1 but you can still set your "iOS Deployment Target" to as far back as 3.0.

    Anyways, Apple recommends that you install betas in a separate directory. You are usually not allowed to submit apps compiled with the beta SDK.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    India
    #8
    But can we install a stable version over another already installed stable version ?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Des Moines, WA
    #9
    I've read nothing in the last couple of years that indicates not to. And have been doing just that myself with no known consequences.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #10
    not knowing the consequence does it mean there is no consequence? :)
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #11
    I just rename the /Developer directory to /Developer_(old_version_number) and install the latest release in /Developer and the latest beta in /Developer_beta.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #12
    sorry about digging grave :D
    I just notice that there are a new update to Xcode 4.2 -> 4.2.1.
    So the apple want me to download the whole install file again(~2g).
    Is it always like this, can I personal update by using patch?
    I
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    jiminaus

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    #13
    Yes

    Yes
     
  14. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #14

Share This Page