Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

silversyren

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 9, 2006
Er, last question from me for a while, I promise. I need to take a break from obsessively looking at Apple for a little bit.. :p

If I bought an Apple Powerbook G4, 15" for say, 1300$ now, could anyone give me an idea of how much I'd be able to sell it for a year from now?

A portable computer would be rather helpful to me at this point in time -- I'm a student entering my senior year of college. i also want to run Photoshop and while my other option, an iMac Dual Core isn't terrible, waiting for new revisions couldn't hurt any.

Waiting a year would allow me to wait until Photoshop goes native for the new operating systems, any issues to hopefully be fixed, and prices to possibly drop? :p

While I'm in school, I have a Mac lab I can work in if i needed somethign really heavy duty -- they're all power macs.

Are there any issues I should know about the 15" before I buy one? Is it possible to get a nice 15" Powerbook for 1300$ or is that just wistful thinking?

Thanks again.. :)

truz

macrumors 6502a
Jan 1, 2006
Florida
They hold more value then a PC does, but you have to understand a mac gets outdated just like a PC does (hardware wise) it holds more value then a pc does tho. buy you a dell core duo and a macbook pro, both with same specs and see which one sells for more in a year. Your dell will sell for much less ($2,000 system, $1,000 or less) and your macbook pro will be a small difference in purchase price ($2,400 system, 1,800). if you added up the price difference with dell coupons and all, in the end you would make out better or even reselling a apple computer then a pc (plus your getting macos+windows if needed). You don't have there stylish design in the pc world like a mac does.

mduser63

macrumors 68040
Nov 9, 2004
Salt Lake City, UT