How well does your MBA play with Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by DisplacedMic, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys - about to buy an MBA. After 10 years in the "real world" i'm going back to school to get my JD and i want to buy a new laptop. I am leaning towards the 13" just because of my aging eyes and because of the added battery life.

    i am also thinking about buying a time capsule and i was wondering if those of you with MBAs and time capsule notice the slowdown?

    i have a 4 year old MBP that has a 2.4ghz chip and 4 gigs of ram. the time machine kicking in isn't too distracting, but sometimes i find myself disabling it while i'm doing lots of work and plugging it back in when i walk away - i know that's the exact opposite of what it's designed to do, but never the less that's what i do.

    Do you guys notice slowdown w/ time capsule? if so that might be reason enough to pop it up to 8gig IMO.

    what do you think?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Depends on the storage

    With a normal HD, yes, the lag is noticeable on "older" machines (2+ years).

    But I barely see that it's running now that all of our laptops have SSD.

    I'm running a 2012 11" MBA and a 2010 MBP with an SSD.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    I have a 2012 13" MBA that backs up to a Time Capsule and never even notice when Time Machine comes on to run its hourly backup.
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    I have a 2011 13" MBA, I never even notice TC backups, just see the drive pop in and out. It doesn't slow the machine down at all, and I have never had to disable it.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #5
    I have a 2012 MBA and 2008 iMac both connected wirelessly to my TC. When the MBA backs up to the TC it is completely unnoticeable. When my iMac backs up to it I can only notice it when I am running Aperture and my images take slightly longer to render. Other than that, I don't notice it when TM runs.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #6
    so awesome - thanks guys, i'm sold!
    i think i'll take my old time machine drive and plug it into time capsule and forget about.

    thanks again!
     

Share This Page