How well will it run

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by trainguy77, Jul 11, 2006.

  1. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #1
    I am buying a G4 400mhz powerbook with 768mb Of RAM. It will be running itunes at thats about it. How well will it run it? The slowest machine i have ever used is 600mhz G3. So I have not idea how well it runs.
     
  2. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #2
    Almost any mac can run itunes. The processor is slow, but as i understand it, itunes is not a processor intensive application. It should run fine.
     
  3. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
  4. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #4
    That machine will be fine for playing iTunes. It will be faster than your iBook G3 trainguy77. :)
     
  5. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #5
    I rarely use my G3, because it is in desperate need of RAM, and i am too cheap to spend that much on an obselete computer. It runs quite well, but having software update and one or two safari pages open pretty much maxes out my RAM. I just wish i could find something useful for it to do.
     
  6. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Its a powerbook G4.
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    I think he ment G3 600 MHz you mentioned in the original post. :)
     
  8. Deepdale macrumors 68000

    Deepdale

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    The performance of iTunes on my G3 450 MHz iMac has never been a problem. The computer came with 64 MB of RAM ... I added another 256 back in 2000 at time of purchase bringing the total to 320. The 256 module subsequently died one year ago and iTunes still is fine with only 64 MB of functioning memory. I use 250 MB of available hard disk space as virtual memory to help offset the loss of the real thing.
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    Is that under Classic or OSX :eek: ? If in OSX, then how does it even run? I now have 118 MB of Wired memory (that cannot be paged to HD) with only Safari, Mail, iChat and iTunes open!
     
  10. Deepdale macrumors 68000

    Deepdale

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Classic.
     
  11. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #11

    Yes, that is what I was referring to. :)
     

Share This Page