How will CS2 run on MacBook for 2/3/4MB Files?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Kardashian, Jun 8, 2006.

  1. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #1
    Thinking of getting my MacBook ASAP (August at the earliest :()

    Just want to know, with 1GB of RAM and the 1.83Ghz version - what would Photoshop run like?

    I've noticed in the benchmarks their using 50MB files, I only ever use 2/3/4MB files, so thats tiny in comparison.

    Will it be usable? How usuable in comparison to a 1.6Ghz G5 with 512MB RAM?

    Thanks in advance.. eagerly waiting for good news... :eek:
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    should be ok.

    im not photoshop guru, and i use it for really light work, and i find its really quick and resonsive.
    One tip though, if your gonna bring it up to a gig of RAM, replace one of the 256 sticks with a gig (ie make it 256+1024 insteade of 512+512). It was only $10 AUD more for me to get a gig stick instead of 2 512MB sticks. That way, if you feel that you need more RAM, its easier and cheaper to upgrade, and the extra 256MB easily overcome the bonus of matched pairs of RAM.
     
  3. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #3
    Sorry, don't quite understand? I thought RAM had to be installed in pairs? 256+256, 512+512?

    Thanks for the response though :)
     
  4. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #4
    I haven't used the new intel macs with PS yet, but I can't imagine that any computer would have trouble with a 4MB file in photoshop. That's absolutely tiny.

    For comparison's sake, I used to use my 900Mhz iBook with 700MB of ram for PS files up to 300MB and had no trouble (other than it being very slow).
     
  5. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #5
    Yay! I can get my MacBook as soon as my iMac sells! :):):)
     
  6. 9Charms macrumors regular

    9Charms

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Photoshop CS2 via Rosetta is supposed to be equivalent to a G4 at 1 GHz. I tried running CS2 on my powerbook (see sig) and it just sucks. Like I'm going to go insane it's so slow and choppy... And I'm only editing 3MB photos (JPG)... If CS2 is your primary use, doing do it! Maybe earlier versions (ie. PS 7) will run fine, but definately not CS2.
     
  7. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #7
    I use Photoshop CS (there really isnt that big of a difference between CS and CS2) on my 2Ghz macbook with 512MB RAM and it runs fine. I edited a 30MB file on it just fine. I'm getting my 2GB in the mail later today so I'm sure it'll be awesome then.
     
  8. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #8
    CS2 ran FINE on my Mac Mini, I used to have the speediest G4 option with 1GB Apple RAM - nothing special. :confused:

    Thanks for taking the time to post everyone :)
     
  9. gerbilbox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #9
    It's recommended that it be installed in pairs to maximize performance, but it's not required. That's my configuration, a MacBook with 1 GB RAM in one slot, and the original 256 MB in the other, and it runs beautifully :)

    According to Bare Feats, the performance difference between matched and unmatched RAM pairs is minimal for almost all their tests.

    Alex
     
  10. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #10
    Thats it - I'm sold, Kids!

    iMac going on eBay within the next couple of days.

    MacBook & Airport Express.... Here I come! :)
     
  11. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #11
    Thanks Dude. :)

    Your all making me really happy.. but darn eager to sell my iMac! :)
     
  12. ImNoSuperMan macrumors 65816

    ImNoSuperMan

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    #12
    I m sure it`ll be better than that. take a look at Don`s post [MacBook] The Mother of all Benchmarks. According to his tests PS running under rosetta on a MB is actually faster than PS running natively on WinBlows XPee. All you need is atleast 1GB of RAM. So if the thing runs faster than native windows, I think it`s fast enough to hold us until CS3 is released.
     

Share This Page