Howdy...and wintel to mac switch queries

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by davrouk, May 14, 2003.

1. davrouk Guest

Hi there to everyone, and thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out here.

Slowly talking my way round to jumping of the wintel wagon. However, being a total mac newbie, I am not sure what to expect from what I buy. I will get myself down to the nearest auth. retailer (rainy Manchester is my closest) for a play about, but was hoping some of you peeps could help me out.

I am looking at around £1500 (maybe just over) to spend, and am weighing up an iMac G4 1Ghz 512Mb (custom) or a PowerMac G4 1Ghz. The superdrive is a necessity as I will use that heavily, but other than that im not sure what suits me better.

As far as main usage goes, it will be web browsing/email/m$office-v.x for the usual uni stuff, as well as coding in java for my course. Obviously the games will come out at some point, mostly SimCity4, The Sims, Quake3, UT2003 (when its out) and CivIII - and whilst I dont expect best of the best frame rates, I want respectable peformance (30fps in UT2003 too much to ask?) All my tunes will be on there too and playing constantly (during games as well if possible). I also like my computer to be quiet, as I sleep in the same room and download lots of stuff overnight.

Will the iMac suffice for my general needs for a year or two (bearing in mind I realise its upgrade limitations)?

How do games work in the 16:10 screen resolution? Do they stretch across the screen, or do mac games support the 1440x900 resolution correctly?

Anyone have a 2003 iMac and can give me some benchmark numbers from the UT2003 demo?

Once again, thanks to any helpers and look foward to chatting to you all soon (through safari on x10.2.6 rather than m$ie on xphome) :)
  2. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

Apr 14, 2002
    bat country