HP ram in an apple?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Patmian212, May 26, 2005.

  1. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Hi all,
    I just got a sawtooth. I found a 128mb stick of PC SD 100 RAM, its out of an HP Pavilion and the ram has an HP sticker, will this ram work in an apple?
    Thanks
    Patmian212
     
  2. zach macrumors 65816

    zach

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Medford
    #2
    Yes, it should.

    It has nothing to do with the computer maker, and it won't work in all "apples".

    But the Sawtooth DOES take PC100 SDRAM, and your stick is PC100 SDRAM, so yes, it SHOULD work.

    Of course, macs are incredibly finicky about ram, so if weird stuff starts happening, take the stick out.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    It might work, or it might not. "PC100 168 pin DIMM" doesn't come close to describing how the chip is built. All it really describes is the speed and the basic physical and signalling characteristics. It doesn't describe how the banks of memory are organized on the module, it might have 2, 4, 8 or 16 chips on the module, it may be buffered or unbuffered, it may be ECC or non-ECC --- there are so many variations it's not funny.
     
  4. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #4
    Sounds like it should work...then again, on the new powermac G5s you need to make sure you only use DDR that has a 3.0 cas latency rating. Not sure about your model.
     
  5. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #5
    try it, i used the original pc133 sticks from my dual 800 on this BRAND NEW, lol, 350mhz G3 and they worked. no problems so far. :)
     

Share This Page