Hulu Plus Problems after 5.1 update

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by frankdogg, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    SoCal LA
    #1
    What's up guys.

    After updating to 5.1, Hulu Plus fails to load the videos. I constantly get "an error occurred loading this content"

    I even tried restoring the ATV3

    Anyone else experiencing this? I need my Hulu. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    SoCal LA
    #2
    solved the problem. i just downgraded the firmware back to 5.0.2.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #3
    I am experiencing this as well. I was just curious if anyone had a workaround other than downgrading the firmware.

    Thanks,
    Andrew
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    SoCal LA
    #4
    People are saying Ethernet is the prob and that using wifi fixes the problem
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #5
    I'm on 5.1 and I was able to watch 3 shows earlier today with no problems.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, co
    #6
    same problem here. happens with netflix too... ill have to try using just wifi when i get home today...very annoying.
     
  7. LMD75, Sep 29, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #7
    Did you just download the older IPSW, connect to iTunes and did an SHIFT+Restore?

    I tried this an received an iTunes error 3194 and I think this is because they just stopped signing of the 5.0.2
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #8
    Switching to wifi did fix the issue for me.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #9
    Glad I found this thread; thought I was going insane.

    Just tried a bunch of things last night to no avail until I decided to try wi-fi for the heck of it. Lo and behold: it works.

    Since everything else on AppleTV appears to work without issue over ethernet, as best I can tell, I'd say this is an AppleTV-Hulu-5.1 update problem.

    But whadya bet Apple's no longer signing activations for the previous firmware if I try to downgrade today?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    #10
    Same here. My ATV 3 has problems with Hulu, Photo Stream, iTunes Match using Ethernet. Netflix and iTunes Store okay. Now using WiFi connection, no issues at all. This all started after the latest iOS update. Definitely a software bug but Apple support was no help.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    #11
    Re: Downgrading Apple TV3 Firmware

    OK. I'll bite.

    How do you downgrade the firmware on an Apple TV 3?

    Thanks,
    Randy
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    SoCal LA
    #12
    yeah i think they stopped signing. try wifi, hopefully it fixes your problem.

    you would have to download a previous ipsw (5.0.2) and connect the ATV to your comp and shift restore using itunes. but it looks like apple is no longer signing for 5.0.2

    glad to hear!
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Tezcatlipoca

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #13
    No Hulu in the UK, but I've had this problem with iTunes Match via Ethernet since the v5.1 update:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1456391

    Others have found that the problem also affects MLB.tv and more.


    Switching to WiFi has fixed it, as above.

    I did try contacting Apple support, and had the usual unhelpful responses that I have come to expect, in which the CSR ignores/misunderstands what I have already told them and just gives links to troubleshooting pages...


    I did find a thread at Apple.com though where someone from Apple had actually posted and asked people for more info on their problem and network setup:

    https://discussions.apple.com/message/19757237#19757237

    royb @ apple.com
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    #14
    Thanks!

    Thank you!
    That totally worked, went wireless and Hulu is back. odd.

     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    #15
    Thank you for pointing me to this solution. Switching to Wi-Fi allowed me to play Hulu videos on my ATV3.

    The sad part of all this is that I called *Apple* and they had no idea how to help me. I had to come here to solve this problem!

    Thanks, MacRumors!!
    Randy
     
  16. Rushli0n, Oct 10, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #16
    So my ATV2 has always been on Wifi and this happens to me on both Hulu and Netflix. Hulu more so, but it appears to be navigation specific. When I try and launch a show from my queue persay, it fails. But if I launch it from recently watched its fine

    Anyone have a fix or experience this?
     
  17. macrumors member

    zfoster13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #17
    Hulu Plus is really screwed up since the update. Sometimes I can watch everything no problem and other times I can't watch anything. I'm on wifi and never had this problem before the update. I have no problems with Hulu Plus on any other devices. They need to fix this soon!
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    swwack91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #18
    I've had the same problem and have found the same solution. Hulu works perfectly over wifi but does not play videos on ethernet.

    This really needs to be addressed soon! :mad:
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #19
    Same deal.

    Doesn't anyone ever want to know WHY? I run gigabit Ethernet all over to a Aebs, and yet it doesn't work? Why are there never any networking answers?
     
  20. macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #20
    I have been on 5.0.2 and on wifi; I've never connected via ethernet with my ATV. I have had issues with Hulu in the past where I get that error (both trying to watch from queue and recently watched) but not as much as I do now. I am in the middle of updating the software because I have had no joy with 5.0.2. I tried ethernet for kicks and same issues occurred. It is truly annoying.
     

Share This Page