hypothetical question (PB as A Remote?)- feel free to call me a dreaming moron

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Heart Break Kid, May 24, 2003.

1. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

this may just seem like a stupid idea, but i was surfing the web wirelessly on my 17" PB while my brother was watching tv in the same room. As usual he lost the remote and rather then getting up to change the channel spent a good 20 min looking for it and finally deciding the search wasnt worth it and continued watching "Golden Girls". It then dawned on me, wouldnt it be awfuly cool if i could change channels from my powerbook? It would make the coolest remote ever :D - i mean this is completly hypothetical, but does anyone think it is possible? Has anyone tried this before?

2. Roger1 macrumors 65816

Roger1

I'm not a programmer, but it seems to me it would be possible. You would need to know frequency (?) of which your tv uses to switch channels. BTW, have you checked the website of the manufacturer of your tv? You never know, they might already have some type of program there, so you can do this :D

Good luck

3. Heart Break Kid thread starter macrumors 6502a

i was thinking something along the lines of making my PB a truly universal remote - granted a freaking expensive one :D

i want it to work with all the tvs in the house - lol - while we're on the subject - why not make it work with all media devices that have remote input capabilities like dvd players etc ?

:D

4. melchior macrumors 65816

melchior

anyone with a palm can do this, but... correct me if i'm wrong, but i was under the impression that powerbooks no longer have an iRDa port....

so you'd have to buy a dongle. maybe there is already some software. probably not. maybe for unix.

it's possible. but probably not worth the effort.

5. Heart Break Kid thread starter macrumors 6502a

your probably right

i was just thinkin itd be a nifty little thing - make win-hell users salivate for a mac just a bit more