I accidently threw Safari...how can I get back?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DakotaGuy, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #1
    Okay, sometimes I do a dumb stunt like tonight and somehow I trashed Safari. So I figured no problem I would just go to apple.com and get it. Problem is the version on there 1.0 released 11-3-03 will not work with my system. It tells me that when I get to the "select destination" panel on installer. I am running 10.3.1. So does this mean I am just out of luck and living with IE because I messed up? I don't want to reinstall 10.3, all I want is Safari back. I wonder if I had to if I can hook my iBook up to the iMac VIA ethernet and drag it over. I have moved programs before, or does Safari require a complete system install? Arrrgh! Well if you can help at all I would appreciate it.
     
  2. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #2
    hhmmm... you should be able to DL it off Apple.com. try deleting all of your Safari preferences as well.

    if you really can't get Safari working, don't use IE. get something like Camino.
     
  3. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #3
    Re: I accidently threw Safari...how can I get back?

    Yeah, version 1.0 is for Jaguar.

    Panther has version 1.1 of Safari. I'm not sure if u can selectivly install from the panther install disks.

    Try a custom install and see what u can do.

    arn
     
  4. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #4
    IF you put in the disc two panther installer, you could manually install the safari.pkg

    aethier
     
  5. encro macrumors 6502

    encro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    bendigo.victoria.au
    #5
    I vote for Camino also! The latest nightly alpha build's are great.

    Camino
     
  6. railthinner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    #6
    this might not work, but......

    can't you run software update? It should show up if you've trashed it.
     
  7. DakotaGuy thread starter macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #7
    Hey thanks for the help, I ended up just pulling it from my iBook and putting it back on, worked fine.
     

Share This Page