I am ashamed of my school!!!

Discussion in 'Community' started by kuyu, Mar 11, 2004.

1. kuyu macrumors 6502a

kuyu

Last Sunday, Florida came to Rupp Arena in Lexington to play the Kentucky Wildcats. It was the last game of the season, and senior night.

Florida is our #1 rival. There star player, Matt Walsh, was taken off his game by the chant from the student section "Walsh is gay". I'm a student, and was at the game standing in the student section, and this pissed me off.

It's one thing to boo (which I did), taunt (go home walsh...which I did), but this chant was uncalled for.

Kentucky has been trying to overcome the hillbilly stereotype for quite a while, and this was definately a step back. Our AD issued a letter of apology to Florida. He should have let some students sign it.

Any thoughts or related stories would be appreciated.

2. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

gwuMACaddict

yeah... your fans were RIDICULOUS... could definitely hear the chant on tv...

any respect i had for your school, gone. flat out, gone. and yes, a select few ruined it for everyone. there is razzing another team, and then there is being completely and utterly direspectful...

3. question fear macrumors 68020

question fear

that really sucks the fans were chanting that.

on the other hand, your response shows your school is not full of "hillbillies", and maybe you can organize a separate apology just from the students.

that would be more powerful than one coming from the administration, it would show the students themselves care.

4. iJon macrumors 604

iJon

thats is a little extreme. well atleast you won. good luck with the win today as well, go win the sec tourney and go win in the ncaa for the sec, woot.

iJon

5. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

bad coach

i did my first two years of college at a cal state campus and when i root for basketball, i like it when one of the state campuses goes far ...actually, in any sport