I am at the end of my rope....

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ghall, Dec 10, 2006.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Okay, this is to the point where it ceases to be funny. I've been having trouble since 5:00 yesterday, I reinstalled Windows XP for the 5th time, and I installed the drivers, and I got the blue screen of death!! This is no longer cool. Why have I heard all these sucess stories of people getting Windows XP running just fine on their Intel Macs, but, for some reason, I can't? This is really frustrating me. Any advice whould be appreciated. If I have to reinstall Windows AGAIN, I will go CRAZY!!!!
     
  2. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #2
    Is it blowing-up on the initialization, or where?
     
  3. yudilks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    Could you tell us the error message shown in the blue screen? Are the drivers that you installing provided by Apple?
     
  4. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    I don't even have time to read the error message. My computer re-boots too fast. As for the drivers, yes, they are the latest drivers from Apple.
     
  5. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    It blows up where ever it feels like. Sometimes it's in the middle, sometimes it's at the end. I'm just happy that there's system restore. :D

    BTW, I don't know if this affects anything, but somehow I only have the keyboard and ATI drivers.
     
  6. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #6
    Windows is weird like that. I'm running Windows right now on my MBP and it has been running fine from the beginning. However, my HP laptop I switched from had windows crash so bad I was re-installing Windows once a month. It was something to do with the registry. I tried something different each time I installed it as well. I think the longest I had it run without crashing was 7 months, but all in all I installed windows probably 10 times over the course of 2 years.

    I've never had it blow up so soon after installing drivers however. The frustrating part is it is still a Beta... Hopefully they will be able to iron out all these problems.
     
  7. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Now I'm getting a Fatal Error right after I'm asked if I want to install Keyboard Support.
     
  8. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #8
    do you delete the partition within Boot Camp or are you using WinXP boot cd (can't remember the official name) to reformat the drive and re-installing Windows?
     
  9. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #9
    I used Bootcamp every time I reinstalled. Why do you ask?
     
  10. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #10
    Not for any particular reason... I just know some people have run into problems when using XP to reformat the drive before reinstalling windows. I honestly can't think of a single thing that would be causing these problems. I've witnessed Boot Camp work on 4 separate intel macs and all 4 worked without a problem... The only thing I can think of is something is wrong with the installation CD of windows?
     
  11. spyderracer393 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #11
    make sure it is Service Pack 2, if its SP1 or no SP it WILL NOT install or work, so if its not SP2, that is why you are having problems.
     
  12. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #12
    Well, it did have a problem installing, so I burned a copy of it, and then it installed just fine, and all was happy....until I installed the drivers.

    BTW, I did have em workin' fine at one point, but then a system file became corrupted when I restarted, and I had to reinstall Windows AGAIN!!!
     
  13. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #13
    It definitaly says on the box, Service Pack 2, unless my eyes are cheated by some spell.
     
  14. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #14
    I'm running out of ideas. I've been out of the windows world for awhile and I can't remember a lot of the troubleshooting techniques I used to use... You mentioned something about only having the ATI and keyboard drivers? How are you missing all the other drivers?
     
  15. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #15
    Do you have the latest firmware update for the MBP? (11/06, I believe) Just a thought.
     
  16. spyderracer393 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #16
    have you tried redownloading the BootCamp assistant? Like you mentioned, you are missing some of the drivers, maybe somewhere along the line your assistant became corrupted, causing problems.

    You should also perform a permission repair and possibly a disk repair...just an idea.
     
  17. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #17
    I have no idea. After the blue screen of death, I restored Windows to it's last working condition, and they were there, yet none of the other drivers were. Is there some way to install the drivers individually?
     
  18. robo74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #18
    15" MacBook Pro, 2.0Ghz Intel Core Duo, 1.5GB of RAM

    What kind of ram did you add?

    You may be having a hardware issue and windows is picking up on it.

    Just a thought.

    Rob
     
  19. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #19
    Um, just regular RAM. I'll try it without the extra RAM though, anyway. Thanks.
     
  20. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #20
    YAY!!! It's working at last. I am so happy, and relieved. In fact, I'm using Windows right now. Later guys! Thanks for all the help.
     
  21. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #21
    So was the RAM the problem?

    B
     
  22. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #22
    I don't think it was. I did something slightly different the second time, as well as take the RAM out. After it worked, I put the RAM back in, and haven't had a problem yet (unless you count Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds crashing).
     

Share This Page