I am confused.....

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by tech324, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #1
    I read that Apple would allow you to use Lion as a virtual machine. However, if you don't get an install disk with the new MBA, how can you install Lion as a virtual machine?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #2
    You are confused.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
    #3
    Indeed.

    Op, extract the lion DMG from the app store download (I'm assuming that you can), install the VM however you feel like

    Although it would probably be a waste of space IMO
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Actually, download it, then move it from the apps folder to another location as it deletes itself after installing on that machine.
    Also, some developers might want a clean instal to test apps and not have to worry about hosing their own workspaces.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #5
    It depends on your requirements. You might not need to run OS X in a virtual environment. But as a software developer or sysadmin, that sort of thing is invaluable for testing purposes. I'm happy to see that Apple's OS X license now allows such things - it's going to make my job easier.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #6
    Being new to MacOS, I would rather do most of my testing in a virtual environment. So this would be very beneficial to me.
     

Share This Page