I AM IN DESPERATE NEED OF HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by enthused91, Jun 30, 2004.

1. enthused91 macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm Courtney and I own a eMac G3 10.2.8. Yesterday, I was doing normal computer stuff when I noticed that my preferences had began disappearing. For instance, my email asked me for my password and then didn't recognize it. So I tried restarting, and when the desktop was up it wasn't my personal desktop. It appeared as if everything in my computer had reset to default. When I called apple care, they basically said that they had never seen this before and couldn't help except that I could purchase a 70 dollar data recovery program. Being a poor college student, I had to decline however I am totally going mental about the whole thing. So today I have been trying desperately to reconstruct what I lost, but it is stressful. It really is strange though because there are some things that are still personalized. One weird thing I noticed was that my dock had been replaced to sit on the bottom (whereas I had put it to the side) but the programs in it were ones that I know weren't default. The default programs were re-added, but my personal additions still remained.
    I believe that I used iSync after all of this occured, so nothing that I would have had saved, like Safari bookmarks or address book contents, are recoverable. If anyone can give me any help at all about this, I would be sooo appreciative because I am just so discouraged right now I could throw my mac through a window!!! I am such a fan of mac computers and having this happen really seems like a slap in the face. Any insight into this mess or suggestions about how to get my bookmarks or other lost data would help a lot, thanks!!

~*~Courtney~*~ :confused: :confused:

2. Thirteenva macrumors 6502a

How much free hard disk space do you have? Is your drive almost full...