I am interested in a Mac to play with.

Discussion in 'Community' started by markjs, Dec 3, 2002.

1. markjs macrumors member

I haven't got a lot of cash, but I do computers for a living (PCs) and I'd like to have a mac around just to play with. Maybe learn about networking them to windows computers, as well as generally learning to run one. What's the slowest one I should consider for getting a feel for how they work, and how much should I pay? I just want something at least roughly equivelent to a 500MHz PC, maybe a bit more, and also would like (it's not a must) one that will run Yellow Dog Linux, as well as mac os. Don't forget I don't have a fortune to spend on it. It'd also be nice if it was somewhat upgradeable, but I am not so sure thats possible, andyway what do you think?

2. strider42 macrumors 65816

strider42

Re: I am interested in a Mac to play with.

Do you want to run OS X, if so, i would really recommend something with at least a G4 in it for best performance and something that supports quartz extreme. The lowest end mac that has both of those things is the eMac.

If OS X performance isn't a huge issue for you, don't consider anything less than a 350 mhz iMac (anything earlier does not have a video card that is properly supported under OS X). Imacs can have their hard drives and ram upgraded and thats it. they are cheap and will run OS X acceptably. If you want a tower system thats more upgradeable (though I personally find upgrasdes to not be all that cost effective), more or less the same logc applies: if OS X performance isn't a big deal, pretty much anything will work for you. If OS X performance is important, you want something that supports quartz extreme.

One other consideration with G4 towers is that you need a monitor, and not all monitors will work without an adaptor, depending on the generation of G4 (apple switched to the ADC plug somewhere in the middle of the product life cycle)