I am proud to finally say....im now a mac user!!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by marknicholls, Aug 16, 2004.

1. marknicholls macrumors 6502

My sexy powerbook arrived today!!

Ok, put my in front of a windows PC and i know it like the back of my hand.....put me infront of a mac and i am a beginner, so its all new to me, so i have a few silly questions

First i would like to say how impressed i am with it, it is a G4 550, 512, 40GB, i appreciate this is not the fastest spec, but i have been using this for 2 hours now, and it really is fast

The 2 things that reakky impressed me are Expose - WOW, and the amazing connectivity! I turned my powerbook on for the first time, and was instantly connected....it found my router in seconds.....in fact i said to my friend, lets see how we get this baby online......and he said "whats that signal looking button on the top right of the screen.....does that mean its connected?" and to our amazement it was. Brilliant.

Now then, i have the following CD's and i have no idea what they all are, i will list them exactly how it says on the cds

Software restore, 1 of 2
    Software restore, 2 of 2
    Mac OS Xinstall
    Mac OS9 install
    OS1
    OS2

Why so many cds?? Could someone tell me what i need to use, and how i format my HDD and do a clean install of my OS (10.3.5)

Any help is great

Thanks

2. windowsblowsass macrumors 6502a

the two software install disks have all the software tha came on the 'book when it was new from apple. the osx cd is your system cd use that to clean install the os 9 cd contains the old os and you can use it to setup a dualboot(os9 osx) machine.

i have no idea what the others do

3. marknicholls thread starter macrumors 6502

but my restore and mac osx cds are only version 10.1, my system is running 10.3.5

will this get updated once i have installed it? via the net? or do i need a different cd?

4. gekko513 macrumors 603

gekko513