I bought a Quad!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by vgame64, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. vgame64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
  2. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #2
    Congrats on the computer... I'm not gonna lie you are sitting on alot of power there... but you knew that already
     
  3. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #3
    You should order it with Error Correcting RAM instead of non-ECC. ;)
    I do believe it's available for the quad.
     
  4. vgame64 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    #4
    Yeah...I was thinking of doing that, but beyond the obvious additional cost being a detracting factor; I still love playing games. And we all know ECC ram blows for gaming.

    Regardless that was not my main reason (otherwise I'dve gotten a pc) but I hope for research purposes the ECC isnt much of a difference.


    I might in the future pick up a few sticks of ECC ram and swap it out.
     
  5. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #5
    The ECC ram is available for the Quad but its 500 bucks difference between non-ecc and ecc ram,same ram sizes ..

    non-ECC ram is $899.99 for a 2 Gig stick compared to ECC ram is $1435.00 for a 2 Gig stick ..

    the ram has to installed as 'paired' install to have ram run @ full speed.

    the prices are from crucial.com


    iphil
     
  6. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    I bet you'll see frame rate drops of about 2% when gaming, max. I've never used a Mac with ECC, but I you can always turn ECC off in BIOS on PCs, so hopefully the new G5s can as well.
     
  7. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #8
    Good for you man....i want one too...damn i'm poor:(

    Bless
     
  8. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Congratulations on your purchase. You'll have a lot of fun with it.
    Forgive my ignorance, but can someone explain to me what ECC ram is and how it differs from non-ECC? I've never heard of this before.
     
  9. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

    kwajo.com

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Bay of Fundy
    #10
    congrats on the purchase, it will be an amazing machine. heck, why not do some folding@home on one or two of the four processor cores, probably won't slow it down at all and it'll help the cause. check out the distributed computing forum for the details :p
     
  10. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #11
    Congrats on your purchase, you won't regret it (maybe your bankaccount does...). A G5 is perfect for scientific research, but your programs have to be optimized. Also there goes a rumor/fact that if you purchase lower latency ram, the speed of your G5 could increase with up to ten percent. So maybe it's an idea for not getting ram from Apple, but from a third party that has lower latency. The price would be about the same, because Apple's ram prices are really high.
     
  11. bursty macrumors 6502a

    bursty

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    STL
  12. lexfuzo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    The heart of Europe
    #13
    have fun!

    I think it'll crunch any number you throw at it :)
     
  13. brendel95 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    #14
    For the scientific computing.

    If you write your own code which can use mutiple processor, it will best machine next to the cluster with many processors. And even if you wrote program for the single processor. It will come up with better performance than the p4 processor (with right optimization for ppc).

    Here are different story. If you use commercial program like matlab, mathematica (i don't have experience with mathematica on mac though), or something else originally written for x86 processor and ported for mac, ppc is not the first choice.

    good luck.
     
  14. vgame64 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
  15. Xephian macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    Isn't that enough? I "only" got 2GB of RAM for my Quad also.
     
  16. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #17
    Only 5GB?
     
  17. sublogic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #18
    welcome to the club! just made the same purchase minus the 7800gt card, i'm not that patient. I also purchased my ram from another vendor.. Apple sells their RAM for too much.
     

Share This Page