i can not open certain programs WHAT THE ****!?!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cees106, Nov 5, 2006.

  1. cees106 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #1
    If I want to open for example bittorent or pictureproject or photoshop it doesnt work. And photo booth skipe msn works as a charm. What is goeing on?? (I juse a macbookpro)
     
  2. jessep28 macrumors 6502

    jessep28

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    #2
    Try repairing permissions.

    Finder > Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility

    Select Hard Drive and then click on repair permissions.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Where did you get the apps? It has to be asked, but are they Mac versions of these apps? If you open a new user account in System Preferences, do they open from there? What changes have you recently made to this system? :)
     
  4. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #4
    I've had similar. A restart (log out?) worked for me.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  6. cees106 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #6
    Yes i have run monlingual. Is that bad?
     
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    Yep...you probably broke Rosetta. They mention it in their FAQ, but they don't nearly do enough to keep people from doing this to their machines. (Heck, the default behavior of the program is to destroy Rosetta...you have to uncheck the options in the Architectures pane in order to not do this.)

    The only recovery is to do an Archive and Install from your install disc.
     
  8. cees106 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
  9. cees106 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
  10. bwanac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    #10
    This is helpful!

    is there a way to restore what monolingual did without a complete os reinstall.
     
  11. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    An Archive and Install should fix the problem...if everything goes well, it'll be as easy as pie. If you preserve all of your user data, it will import it all once the system is reinstalled and you should be ready to go.
     

Share This Page