I can print but can't scan from my HP All-in-one

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by rowdyroutzen, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone, I'm trying to not get discouraged about this one. I thank you in advance for any time you may help me with.

    I have been using this HP All-in-one 6100xi for a while now on several different computers. I was running OSX 10.3.9 on my PowerBook G4 but now I upgraded to 10.4.1 on same computer. I tried using the scanner function but it didn't work. I tried it from photoshop and from the HP Scan Pro. I was able to print no problem though. So then I uninstalled the software and reinstalled the newest Driver from the site

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=219&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=79480&lang=en

    »HP All-in-One printing-only web installer for Mac OS X v10.2.8, v10.3 and v10.4

    After installing it the same occurred. I got on the phone with HP and they had me check the hardware which was fine, I printed a color copy from the glass of the scanner.

    So i can print now as before but cant scan from any application. It gives me a message saying "scanner can't be found" or "scanner is not connected" or "initialized"...

    What I'm starting to think is that the driver says printer only and I'm wondering if there's another driver that doesn't specifically exclude any other functions. Regardless if any of you have suggestions I would be very happy to hear them thanks.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #2
    Yeah, HP has driver issues, lately. Check their site again for updated driver and install. I had this same issue with my c4200 series/MBP
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #3
    Did you find a driver that worked? I have a PSC 2110 all-in-one with the same issue. Good printing, no scanning.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    just checking but your not running through airport express or anything like that are you?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Burgess07

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Watertown, WI
    #5
    I had the same printer. Same issue (no scanning). Last week I bought a Epson Stylus CX9400Fax. Now I got my scanning back:D
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    khunsanook

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    East Asia
    #6
    The HP All-in-one software suite never worked very well for me with Tiger and my PSC All-in-one 1110 stopped scanning when I upgraded to Leopard. The HP driver page says there is an "upcoming release" of Leopard software but this statement has been there since NOV 2007. I've contacted HP repeatedly about this and they change their answer all the time. Others I've talked with said HP replied to them saying now there will be no support for many of the earlier All-in-ones under Leopard. BUT, last week I was told by HP to just keep waiting. Evidently they have no idea what's going on. I'm buying a new printer/scanner next week and guess what...it won't be an HP :mad:
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #7
    That's it right there. You get hold of an all-in-one support person, and they don't know why it doesn't work in Leopard. So they ask one of their floor agents and they tell them whatever was the latest thing they heard.
    Or they ask if the phone agent read their emails that morning. (all latest issues are supposed to be mentioned there)

    In this case at least they can't bump it to their laptop department because KV (notebooks) do not deal with Macs, they only deal with Compaq and HP hardware. Even if the laptop person might know how to do it.

    former KV person.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #8
    Thank You All

    The only answer I have is that there might not be one, heh:)

    I'm going to drop it for now but thank you for your support and I may just have to buy a new one:0

    thanks yall
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #9
    Stick with Epson and Canon for your All-In-One and Photo printer needs and your problem should be solved lol. Then again I haven't checked to see what Canon's driver support is like for Leopard but it's surely better than HP.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #10
    In regards to the canon comment and leopard, I can tell you (I have an MX310 all in one) and it runs just fine.

    There ARE 2 separate driver packages though, one says printer and the other scanner. Once I installed the scanner, the scanner part works with Image Capture and the Canon Utility. Once you install the printer driver the print function is set.

    Maybe the HP has a separate driver for scanning? I'm assuming you tried from Image Capture.

    Definitely sounds driver related your issue.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #11
    Just FWIW, I once had a portable B&W Canon BJ that worked with an Atari ST, an LC Mac, and a 386 Acer Laptop. Realized quickly that the Stylewriter cartridges were interchangeable with it too.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #12
    Scanning from HP All-in-one

    Same thing here, except the HP Officejet J4580 does scan when I connect it directly to the iMac running Snow Leopard. With Airport Extreme, the scan box disappears, and I can only print. Not a problem, just a solution. Not a glitch, just a design feature.
     
  13. macrumors member

    alex1913

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    Long Island
    #13
    Rosetta

    Set the program to open through rosetta, go to get info (command i) on the icon and choose open with rosetta
     

Share This Page