I can see network devices, but can't get past 'Connecting' in Finder. (BT Home Hub)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by gwelmarten, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #1
    Hi
    I'm having a bit of trouble with my home network. Before, I used to use a net gear router to connect both my iMac and my MacBook Air. Both had file sharing enabled, and I could easily connect to one from another and share files / share screen.
    I upgraded to a BT Home Hub router. I'm not sure if everything stopped working at exactly this time, so I'm not sure if this is the real cause of the problems.
    Now, everything still has file sharing enabled, but when I look at networked devices in Finder (including my NAS) and try and connect, it just gets stuck on Connecting - I can't even do "Connect As". See the attached screenshot.
    I also tried connecting via afp to the NAS (a Synology box), and that just showed the bar with the diagonal lines that keep moving across it - meaning no progress!
    I suspect this is the BT Home Hub, but am not sure. Does anybody else have one of these? Any problems? Or could it be something else? Any thoughts appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Sam
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macman45, Jul 10, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012

    macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    Try clicking "Connect As" You should be prompted for your password for the device.

    EDIT

    Just saw you tried that....You could try re-setting the hub / router, then try connecting again....Assuming you have all sharing options enabled. Those hubs have caused issues before....A forum search may provide more information, but if I remember correctly the solution turned out to be a different router.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #3
    The screenshot would't change if I clicked "Connect As". Nothing happens (See original post).
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #4
    This is the loading screen I get when I try to connect using the "Connect to Server" option in finder.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #6
  7. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    What are the settings on the router? firewall? ports? IP assignment?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #9
    I fixed the issue entirely by disabling the firewall on the router. Port forwarding helps for protection anyway, and all computers have pretty good firewall anyway.
     

Share This Page