I can't get Aero to work in MacBook

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by boneca, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. boneca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    I have a MacBook 2GHz C2D 2GB RAM nad I can't get Aero theme to work in Parallels.
    I just updated my RAM to 2GB and gave 1GB to Vista. I know that MacBook can run Aero but all the suggestion I read here doesn't apply as it's using Parallels video Drivers.

    I would really appreciate any suggestions on this.

    Thank you,
    boneca
     
  2. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #2
    what's your index score?

    i dont think macbook would be able to run Aero natively, aka using bootcamp, let along using parallel. but i might be wrong. check your index, if it's like 3 or above for everything, you "might" be able to do it.

    Aero depends strongly on graphic card, which Macbook doesn't really have one. let along the simulated graphic from parallel.
     
  3. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    i don't think you can get Aero or Glass through Paralles-only boot camp
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    The MacBook CAN natively support Aero. AKA only in Boot Camp.

    Parallels cannot utilize the full capabilities of the video card, and Aero depends heavily on the video card. Therefore, Parallels = no Aero. Even on a Mac Pro.
     
  5. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
  6. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #6
    but would Aero work on Macbook? for it only has a integrated graphic card?
     
  7. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #7
    it works in bootcamp.
     
  8. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    Yes, of course it does. The MacBook has an Intel GMA950 graphics chip; all laptops that have that chip can run Vista in full Aero mode. It has nothing to do with the fact that it's integrated or not.
     
  9. Virtualball macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #9
    In Parallels you can not use Aero for the same reason you can't play games, theres little to none gfx card support. Wait until VMWare Fusion can support Vista in it's next release
     
  10. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    if you look at vista's aero requirements, some integreated graphic cards as in the macbooks can support aero to a certain resolution
     

Share This Page