I can't handle Tiger anymore

Discussion in 'macOS' started by alangyssler, Aug 12, 2005.

1. alangyssler macrumors member

alangyssler

Just seeing if anyone else feels my pain here...

I feel like I should have waited to purchase Tiger. I have had nothing but troubles with it on TWO computers (see sig.). I'm a college student, and with little better to do over my summer break, I've spent way to much time trying to get Tiger to function properly on both computers. I've reinstalled the OS, and all subsequent software at least (no exaggeration, here) 10 times total in the last three months, mostly on my 1.2 gHz iBook. What gives? Why am I having such troubles with Tiger? My Finder crashes all the time. Spotlight responds, but usually very slowly. I can repair permissions until the end of time, and am still left with Widget preferences that need changing, but never do change. I frequently get a trouble with my Finder loading the "Open with" menu with duplicates (or even triplicates) of an application (often times, with only my one hard drive running, and only one copy installed. And when applying the fix I was given in the terminal (see thread entitled "My finder went bonkers"), it fixes it until my next reboot. My 5 button mouse used to be configured to have the right-most button go to my desktop in Exposé, but now it doesn't do anything, and reassigning other buttons doesn't work either.